Archives for the day of: June 1, 2012

V. AZARENKA/A. Wozniak 6‑4, 6‑4

VICTORIA AZARENKA

Q.  What was a good point for you tonight?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Well, I think I played pretty well.  You know, I was going for my shots, I was serving good, and mix up sometimes.

Overall it was much better today.  I don’t know.  I think I had more opportunities.  But she played really well in those tough moments.  I think I could have stepped it up a little bit more.

You know, my game is better and better with every match, so that’s what I’m happy about.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/N. Devilder 6‑1, 6‑2, 6‑2

 

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

Q.  I guess it was a long day before playing.  Can you maybe share what was going through your mind when you were seeing Simon and Wawrinka still playing and the light?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  Well, I expected, you know ‑‑ when I saw the schedule last night, I expected a long match between Simon and Wawrinka.  Not that long, but long.  But okay.  I didn’t wait too much.  I came a bit later in the day in the club.

So it was all right.  You know, it was good to finish match today.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. WAWRINKA/G. Simon 7‑5, 6‑7, 6‑7, 6‑3, 6‑2

Read the rest of this entry »

. GOFFIN/L. Kubot 7‑6, 7‑5, 6‑1 Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/N. Mahut 6‑3, 4‑6, 6‑2, 7‑5

Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/N. Mahut 6‑3, 4‑6, 6‑2, 7‑5 Read the rest of this entry »

S. STOSUR/N. Petrova 6‑3, 6‑3 Read the rest of this entry »

J. TSONGA/F. Fognini 7‑5, 6‑4, 6‑4

 

 

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA

 

 

Q.  In this match, the most difficult thing for you was probably to remain focused, because your opponent could easily make fun and laugh.

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  Yes, Fabio always does that, and when I walked on the court this was one of my objectives.  I didn’t want to fall in the trap, because then it can become very complicated.

 

Q.  This is why you didn’t show too much of your emotions?  You were very much focused?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  Yes, and it’s also true that it’s also part of my objectives when I practice to remain calm.

 

Q.  Next round you’re gonna play either Gilles Simon or Wawrinka.  Do you have any favorite?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  No, I don’t mind.  What I would prefer would be to win the match, whether I play one or the other.  There’s no favorite opponent for me.  I just want to play the match.

 

Q.  You didn’t lose any sets so far, so does it mean that you’re improving with every match?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  Well, you probably didn’t follow all my matches, but I’m improving.  I’ve played three days in a row, so it’s going to be good for me to have a day off tomorrow.

As I said yesterday, I’ve always been like that.  I always improve as matches go by, so I hope it’s going to be the case again the day after tomorrow.

 

Q.  What kind of adjustments do you still need to make?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  On the attack, I can be better.  I still miss quite a few balls when I’m in the court, but if I manage and make those adjustments, correct those little mistakes which make me lose a couple of serve games, then it could be fine.

 

Q.  On the court you were telling about the support of the crowd.  If you’re playing Gilles, are you willing to share the support from the crowd?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  Yes, of course I am.  I have had the experience of that.  It’s not the first time it’s going to happen.

T. BERDYCH/K. Anderson 6‑4, 3‑6, 6‑7, 6‑4, 6‑4

 

 

TOMAS BERDYCH

 

 

Q.  You beat Anderson twice this year before this match in straight sets.

TOMAS BERDYCH:  Three.

 

Q.  Three times?  Sorry.  Did you expect to have such a tough match today?

TOMAS BERDYCH:  Yes, of course, I did, because I played to him even in Australia, even in Madrid, then, as I said, in Madrid I played him in the first round, and he was the toughest opponent until I get to the semis.

So it really mean something.  Even today, you know, I was expecting really, really tough one, because, you know, he’s coming up.  He’s playing well.  It was really, really close game today.

 

Q.  Del Potro has to play now with Cilic.  We can imagine that maybe Del Potro beats Cilic, and I want to know your opinion about a match against Juan Martin.  You had a close match against him in Madrid.  What’s your expectation in the next match if you play against Juan Martin?

TOMAS BERDYCH:  Yes, I had a very close match against him in Madrid, but, as you said, he still needs to go play a really tough one with Cilic.  I don’t want to go anything before, and let’s see how they gonna play.

 

Q.  This is a question from fans.  When you’re playing ‑‑ if you play Andy Murray, are you jealous to see Ivan Lendl in his player box?

TOMAS BERDYCH:  Definitely not.  I mean, I have no reason to be.  I would say that maybe even the other side, you know, that, you know, it’s even bigger challenge that I can see him on the other side, and it’s probably maybe not only kind of fight with Andy on court, but, you know, it’s something ‑‑ well, it’s maybe just a small thing.  No, I mean, definitely not jealous.

Actually, it was nice to, you know, have a good match with him in Monte‑Carlo and I was the one who won.  Yeah.

 

Q.  Would you like to see him in your player box maybe one day?

TOMAS BERDYCH:  Well, of course.  I mean, it would be an honor, but this is something about, you know, a bit more talking, you know.  So not only just to say if I want him or not.  But, you know, definitely for the things around makes the way, and we can be together, then of course, it could be nice.

P. MARTIC/A. Medina Garrigues 6‑2, 6‑1

 

PETRA MARTIC

 

 

Q.  I guess you’re happy about the victory.  It’s the first time going that far in a Grand Slam.

PETRA MARTIC:  Yeah, that’s true.  I’m living my dream this week.  I mean, this is why I started playing tennis.  This is what kept me motivated when I didn’t play well, when nothing went my way.

So this is what’s happening right now, and that’s the most important thing.  I’m really enjoying it.  It’s amazing.  No words can describe this.

 

Q.  Do you consider this year to be your breakthrough season?  What’s different this year compared to the previous seasons?

PETRA MARTIC:  Well, I think the most important thing is that I’m a more mature player this year.  That’s the reason why I play more consistent than I did the years before.

So I definitely believe this could be my breakthrough year.

 

Q.  Is there maybe a moment, a tournament, or an event that you could remember that led you to that breakthrough?

PETRA MARTIC:  I think I became better player in Malaysia this year.  That’s where I made my first WTA final.  That’s where I started to play aggressive tennis, started to believe more to myself.

That’s the key to success.