Archives for the day of: June 11, 2012

R. NADAL/N. Djokovic 6‑4, 6‑3, 2‑6, 7‑5

 

RAFAEL NADAL

 

 

Q.  Two very small questions.  First, when you were sitting down, everybody was taking your photo.  You picked up the trophy, and you were looking at the names on the trophy, counting them.  Whose names were you looking at, yours or someone else’s?

RAFAEL NADAL:  No, I was looking at the winners.  No, no, no, no.  For me is very small, and I wasn’t counting.  I just go year by year.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. NADAL/N. Djokovic 6‑4, 6‑3, 2‑6, 7‑5

 

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

 

Q.  I guess of course you’re disappointed.  What maybe are you regretting the most about this final in two days?  How have you lived with this tension?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  Well, this has been a strange final with delays and conditions and two days’ length of match.  I’m just happy to be in this position, you know, to be playing finals at Roland Garros.

I could easily have lost the match in fourth round or even more against Tsonga, but I managed to come to the finals for the first time in my career.  I should be happy about that, of course.  I will be and I am, but in this moment I am disappointed about this loss because I thought I started to play better in the third set and felt like I could take this match to a fifth set, and then, you know, everything could be possible, but, yeah, unfortunately there has been a rain delay yesterday when I started to feel really good on the court.

But look, you know, I don’t want to find an excuse in that, because the first rain delay maybe helped me a little bit; the second helped him.

So that’s the way it goes, and the better player won today.  So congratulations for that.

Read the rest of this entry »