Archives for the day of: June 24, 2012

KIM CLIJSTERS

 

Q.  What was your injury and what is your condition now?

KIM CLIJSTERS:  My injury a couple days ago was my left abdominal muscle that I pulled, that I tore, last year in Toronto, I think.  It started to flare up a little bit again and I decided not to risk it by playing the semis.

The tournament wasn’t over, so who knows, maybe playing an extra two matches there.  So I decided to pull out of the tournament to give me enough rest to be ready for my first round here.

Read the rest of this entry »

PETRA KVITOVA

 

Q.  Being the defending champion this year, how does that alter your mindset and preparing coming into Wimbledon?

PETRA KVITOVA:  Yeah, I think I’m trying to not thinking about the defend the title here, but I’m sure it’s come to my mind when I step on the court.

Yeah, I mean, the preparation isn’t very well as we would like to have the schedule and the last year.  Yeah, I lost too early in the Eastbourne, but I practice here a few days more.  I feel very well, and I can’t wait to step on the court again.

Read the rest of this entry »

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

Q.  How would you describe your game on grass and what are maybe your weaknesses and your strengths on this surface?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  Well, over the years, you know, I’ve been playing better on this surface.  Obviously the grass courts are slower than they were maybe 15, 20 years ago.  They are more suitable to the baseline players.

So it goes to the favor of my style of the game.

You know, especially in the second week where on the main courts you don’t see as much grass and the ball bounces a bit higher, and so it gets a bit slower.

But, yeah, I mean, as I said, it’s suitable to the baseline players.  You can expect a long rallies.  But still grass is the fastest surface we have in sport, so it takes time to adjust obviously from the long clay court season.

But I always try to be more aggressive, to get more to the net, try to play a shorter points.

Read the rest of this entry »