Archives for the day of: June 30, 2012

A. MURRAY/M. Baghdatis 7‑5, 3‑6, 7‑5, 6‑1

 

ANDY MURRAY

 

 

Q. One of your most memorable Wimbledon matches?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, it was.  Yeah, it was tough obviously for both of us.  You know, the conditions are tricky the first couple of sets.  It was very windy.

Obviously the roof, I think the quality of tennis improved under the roof.  I was under the impression I was stopping at 11:00 regardless of what the score was.  Even if it was in the middle of a game.

But, yeah, obviously glad that I managed to get the finish.  And, you know, the atmosphere at the end was excellent.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. RODDICK/B. Phau 6‑3, 7‑6, 6‑3

 

ANDY RODDICK

 

 

Q.  How did you feel through that?  Pretty good?

ANDY RODDICK:  Yeah, felt fine.  He’s tough because he kind of just take swats at the ball, so it’s tough to kind of build a match, I guess.  He played well in spurts understand a he had his off moments also.

You know, just glad to get that break back and then close it out in three.

Read the rest of this entry »

Y. SHVEDOVA/S. Errani 6‑0, 6‑4

 

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA

 

 

Q.  Did we just overhear you say that you were in such a zone you didn’t even realize you hadn’t lost a point in the first set?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Yeah, I had no idea.  I was just playing every point and every game.  Like I didn’t feel like it was every game was 40‑Love, only in the second set.

Like I remember like first or second ball of the second set she won.  All the people start to like clap and scream.  I was like, What’s going on?  I even smiled.  I was, like, Okay, they want to see a good match.  I was like, Okay.

And then in the gym after the match, when I was cooling down, my coach came, and he’s like, Did you know like someone told me like the stats about you and not losing a point.  I was like, Really?  Like not making unforced errors or not losing points?  Not losing a point.  So it was incredible.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. CILIC/S. Querrey 7‑6, 6‑4, 6‑7, 6‑7, 17‑15

 

MARIN CILIC

 

 

Q.  Did you think it was going to go on until Monday?

MARIN CILIC:  Well, it was getting dark, so I think if we would have stayed another 10, 15 minutes, it definitely would went to Monday.

Was mentally not easy, especially in that fifth set.  I was serving for the match after that long of a match.  I felt I had a lot of chances in that third, fourth, and fifth set always close, close to him and on his serves, but never really finding the one point that could really make a difference.

So it was especially difficult in the end to always stay focused and concentrated to do what you need to do, especially when playing that long not to miss some easy balls on your serve.

With that, the wind a little bit, it was wind was swirling around all the time, so that also made it a bit difficult.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. CILIC/S. Querrey 7‑6, 6‑4, 6‑7, 6‑7, 17‑15

 

SAM QUERREY

 

Q.  You must feel gutted?

SAM QUERREY:  A little tired, but it was a good match.  It was a fun match.  I had my chances, but, you know, kind of came through at the end.

Those double faults didn’t help me, but he played well.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. FISH/D. Goffin 6‑3, 7‑6, 7‑6

 

MARDY FISH

 

 

Q.  Tricky player?  What are your thoughts on the match and just your thoughts about your Wimbledon so far?

MARDY FISH:  Yeah, he’s a good player.  You know, it’s never easy when you have never seen the guy play before.

But he’ll be a good player.  He got better and better every set today.  I served well and was sort of able to control the match with my serve.

Read the rest of this entry »

D. FERRER/A. Roddick 2‑6, 7‑6, 6‑4, 6‑3

 

DAVID FERRER

 

Q.  Can you assess your performance for us, how you thought the game went for you, having to come from a set down.

DAVID FERRER:  I’m playing very good this season.  I’m playing very good in grass court last week and this week.

And today was a tough, tough match.  Very close match.  I play very consistent, very solid.  And when I won the second set, and the third and the fourth, I play more quiet, receiving better than the first and second set.  And I can win.

Read the rest of this entry »

J. DEL POTRO/K. Nishikori 6‑3, 7‑6, 6‑1

 

JUAN MARTIN DEL POTRO

 

 

Q.  This is your equal best result at Wimbledon.  What do you think has changed about your grass court game that’s helped you improve over the years here?

JUAN MARTIN DEL POTRO:  Yes, I think was my best match in this week also.  I play really aggressive, trying to hit the ball really hard, and I took all my breakpoints.  That’s important to have the control of the match for play more focus and more relax also.

I think I did a very good match today, and I will have an opportunity after tomorrow to play the fourth round again.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. WILLIAMS/J. Zheng 6‑7, 6‑2, 7‑9

 

SERENA WILLIAMS

Q.  How deep did you have to dig there?

SERENA WILLIAMS:  Definitely pretty deep.  She was playing really well.  Just have to go out there and do what I could.

Read the rest of this entry »

P. KVITOVA/V. Lepchenko 6‑1, 6‑0

 

PETRA KVITOVA

 

 

Q.  That looked like a fairly comfortable win for you.  How did you feel out there?

PETRA KVITOVA:  Yeah, I felt well.  I remember what I had to play when I played against her in Roland Garros, so I knew that I have to play my game again and hold good my serve.

The score look easy, but some rally were good, yeah.

Read the rest of this entry »