Archives for the day of: June 29, 2012

M. SHARAPOVA/H. Su‑Wei 6‑1, 6‑4

 

MARIA SHARAPOVA

 

 

Q.  How difficult did you find the wind today?

MARIA SHARAPOVA:  Yeah, it was certainly different than the previous two matches.  But, you know, going into the warmup, you know it’s going to be out there.  You feel it.  It’s pretty much the same for your opponent.

I think it’s just about being patient and, you know, maybe a little bit smarter.  But, yeah, overall it was all right.  Considering the conditions, I’m pretty happy with the way I played.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/R. Stepanek 4‑6, 6‑2, 6‑2, 6‑2

 

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

 

Q.  After what happened last night with Rafa, any point where you thought, Oh, no?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  Yeah, not really.  I was trying to focus from the start of my match.  Obviously I had a lot of chances in the opening set.

But being aware of his qualities and experience, I wasn’t too surprised with the way he played in important moments.  He was mentally very composed.

You know, he was out there to win a match.  I was a set down, but managed to make the crucial break in the opening game of the second set, and then I thought I played really well.

Read the rest of this entry »

V. TROICKI/J. Monaco 7‑5, 7‑5, 6‑3

 

JUAN MONACO

 

 

Q.  If you excuse me, I was hoping to talk about Rafa a little bit.  You’re very good friends with Rafa.  Were you surprised to see him exiting the competition last night?  Was it a shock?

JUAN MONACO:  Of course I’m surprised.  It was like I don’t know how many years that he didn’t lose early in a Grand Slam.

I didn’t talk to him.  I know for sure he’s very disappointed.  He’s sad because he’s a great champion.  He played very well last four months ago, so, I mean, it’s good time to rest for him, I guess.

Hopefully he’s going to be ready, better condition, for Olympic Games.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/R. Stepanek 4‑6, 6‑2, 6‑2, 6‑2

 

RADEK STEPANEK

 

 

Q.  Did you think maybe when you took the first set that there might be another Czech shock on the cards?

RADEK STEPANEK:  Yeah, it would be nice, no? Yeah, after the first set I played a great set.  You know, I backed up some break points against my serve right from the beginning.  There were long games the whole match.  Even the score in the last three sets, you know, looks easy.

I think on the court it was, you know, battling nearly after every game.  You know, I lose my serve straight at the beginning of the second set, which was not a good move from my side, because once you get, you know, these top guys going, then it’s tough to stop them.

Even, you know, it was one set all, I had ‑‑ first four games in the third set I had ‑‑ in his two service games I had break points.  In my service games I had game points.  So I should have won all four games, but tennis is not played what I should do but what I did.  I lost unfortunately all four games.

You know, I believe fourth set from Novak’s side was very impressive.  I was battling until the end, but the fourth set I felt like no matter what I do on the court, he always answers.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. LISICKI/S. Stephens 7‑6, 1‑6, 6‑2

 


SABINE LISICKI

 

 

Q.  It looked like a tough encounter for you out there.

SABINE LISICKI:  Yes, Sloane plays great.  She’s a good, talented young girl.  I knew she can serve well, so, you know, had to take my chances.  That’s what I did in the third set quite well.  I’m happy that I got through.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. QUERREY/M. Raonic 6‑7, 7‑6, 7‑6, 6‑4

 

SAM QUERREY

Q.  That might be your biggest win in what a year?  Certainly at a slam?

SAM QUERREY:  Yeah, definitely.  I mean, I have only played two other slams in the year, and I lost to Tomic and lost to Tipsarevic.

This is definitely my biggest win in a long time.  It was a big moment, a big court, and it feels great.

Read the rest of this entry »

HSIEH‑LISICKI/Robson‑Watson 6‑3, 7‑6

 

HEATHER WATSON – LAURA ROBSON

 

 

Q.  You fought back well in the second set in that match.  Didn’t quite work for you at the end, did it?

HEATHER WATSON:  Yeah, I mean, that definitely wasn’t an easy first round.  We’ve been working on a lot of things.  I think as a team we’ve come a long way already in just this short season that we’ve been playing together.

If we keep playing, I think we’re going to start doing really well.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. WILLIAMS/M. Czink  6‑1, 6‑4

 

SERENA WILLIAMS

 

Q.  Ten aces.  Very happy with it?

SERENA WILLIAMS:  Serving‑wise it was definitely better, more consistent.  So it’s something to be happy about.

Read the rest of this entry »

X. MALISSE/G. Simon 6‑4, 6‑4, 7‑6

 

XAVIER MALISSE

 

Q.  That was a good win for you, wasn’t it?

XAVIER MALISSE:  Yeah, yeah, I’m very happy.  I played well.  I’ve never beaten him.  It’s always tough to play someone you’ve never won against.

Very happy.  Long rallies, long match, long sets.  But very happy to win in three, because if I lose the tiebreaker it’s totally different match and he could come back.  He never gives up.

Very happy with the way I played and finished.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. SHARAPOVA/T. Pironkova 7‑6, 6‑7, 6‑0

 

MARIA SHARAPOVA

 

 

Q.  A not particularly convincing start in your early‑round matches.  Is that because you’re adjusting to the grass or is it something else?

MARIA SHARAPOVA:  My first match was okay (laughter).  Second one we should talk about, but the first one…

Well, a lot of things went on in the last one.  Obviously felt like two matches in a way.  You know, yesterday she came out firing, started so well, and had so many opportunities to win that set.  I really hung on.  I was just extremely tough.

Finally got the momentum.  I knew we would be stopping.  Everybody knew at some point we wouldn’t finish the match.  That was difficult, because I felt I had the advantage.

Today I wanted to start off really well because I knew I was up a break.  Didn’t go according to plan.  Really served sloppy.

In the third I changed it around.

Read the rest of this entry »