Archives for the day of: June 27, 2012

N. DJOKOVIC/R. Harrison 6‑4, 6‑4, 6‑4

 

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

 

Q.  Did you ever hit the crossbar out on the court today, like the soccer kicks?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  No, but I watched it now.  It’s quite exciting when it gets to the penalty shootout.  It’s a gamble in the end.

Read the rest of this entry »

K. CLIJSTERS/A. Hlavackova 6‑3, 6‑3

 

KIM CLIJSTERS

 

 

Q.  Have you played under the Centre Court roof before?

KIM CLIJSTERS:  Yes.  First day.

In 2009 when we had the opening ceremony, that was the first and the last time.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. RODDICK/J. Baker 7‑6, 6‑4, 7‑5

 

ANDY RODDICK

 

 

Q.  Straights‑set match, but didn’t seem very straightforward.  Could you talk us through it.

ANDY RODDICK:  Yeah, I mean, sometimes you have matches like that here.  I feel like I played a match and a half ‑‑ or a set and a half yesterday and a set and a half today.

You just kind of chill out, and when they say, Go, you go.  I’m not sure it’s rocket science how to get through it.  It’s frustrating for everybody.

I thought he played really well.  Came out and was aggressive.  I’m happy to get through.

Read the rest of this entry »

T. PASZEK/C. Wozniacki 5-7, 7-6, 6‑4

 

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI

 

 

Q.  You must have felt that was tough to play that well and get out in the first round?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Yeah, it was a good match, good tennis, but that doesn’t really help me.  I lost in the first round.

Tomorrow no one will remember how great a match it was, they’ll just remember who won.

You know, obviously, yeah, it’s not a nice feeling.  Those are some of the matches that it’s really great when you win them, but also really sucks when you lose.  Especially after having two match points and not taking them.  It wasn’t because I played badly.  You know, she just went for it, and that’s it.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. RUS/S. Stosur 6‑2, 0‑6, 6‑4

 

ARANTXA RUS

 

 

Q.  What went through your mind after the second match point?  She played such an amazing backhand after a long rally.  How did you manage to stay cool?

ARANTXA RUS:  Yeah, she played a great point.  It was a good point.  I was just thinking, Go for every ball, and, yeah, not thinking about the match points.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. LISICKI/B. Jovanovski 3‑6, 6‑2, 8‑6

 

SABINE LISICKI

 

 

Q.  Quite a tough one for you?

SABINE LISICKI:  Yeah, I was a bit nervous, which I didn’t expect in the beginning, so didn’t start off too well.  But I kept fighting.  That’s what counts in the end.

I got through, so I get another chance to play better the next time.

Read the rest of this entry »

BHUPATHI‑BOPANNA/Felder‑Jaziri 6‑0, 7‑6, 6‑2

 

MAHESH BHUPATHI  and ROHAN BOPANNA

 

 

Q.  Given all that was going on in the last five, ten days, what was it like coming out playing and getting on with the tournament?

MAHESH BHUPATHI:  It was refreshing.  I mean, you know, the effort the last four or five days to try and put that episode behind and just try and focus on preparing for Wimbledon, we’re glad to get that first win under the belt.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/F. Fognini 6‑1, 6‑3, 6‑2

 

ROGER FEDERER

 

 

Q.  Fognini, he was sort of frustrated.  Did you notice that?  Did you feel he didn’t think in his possibilities?

ROGER FEDERER:  I thought he tried hard, to be quite honest.  Obviously grass court, it’s hard to get into the match when you’re down.  I was serving well.  You’re not going to get many chances throughout a set maybe against me when I’m serving well like that and able to vary with my serve.

So obviously it’s frustrating and you’re trying, but even as hard as you try, sometimes you don’t really get into it, right?  That’s grass‑court tennis.

You have to be extremely patient and really focus on your own service games, focus on what you can control.  I guess maybe this is where maybe a little bit ‑‑ I don’t consider him a clay‑court player, but on clay, if you do play well, you will get your chances; whereas on grass it’s not automatically the case.

He was down in the score quickly.  After that things get a bit complicated.  I didn’t think it was that easy of a match maybe.  Really tried to focus hard and made sure I played sort of a clean match, which I was able to do again today.

Read the rest of this entry »

K. BONDARENKO/K. Date‑Krumm 5‑7, 6‑3, 6‑3

 

KAMIKO DATE‑KRUMM

 

 

Q.  Can you tell us about how the match went today?

KAMIKO DATE‑KRUMM:  I was injury my left calf when I played in Roland Garros.  Then today I had still problem, so I couldn’t move a little bit not quickly, not wider.  So three days ago I was almost not playing here.

So I decide ‑‑ I went to check my calf in echo, and then doctor said, Don’t play.  And physio also said, Don’t play.  It’s too much risk, especially my age.

But Wimbledon is my favorite tournament.  And then also I don’t know how many years I can play.  I don’t know my next year or two years later.  Every year is almost last year for me.

So I don’t want to give up, so I take risk.  Also, I don’t play Olympics, so I have a little bit break after Wimbledon.

I take risk, and in two days it was getting better.  I don’t really know so much pain in my calf today, but of course if I move quickly, it was one more time I pull the muscle, so dangerous.  So I don’t want to 100% take risk.  So I save my energy and then don’t move.

Yeah, of course it was a very disappointed.  I was not very ‑‑ I was not bad today, my tennis, but body cannot move.  So yeah.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. IVANOVIC/M. Martinez Sanchez 6‑3, 3‑6, 6‑3

 

ANA IVANOVIC

 

 

Q.  Must be pretty happy.  A little bit tough along the way?

ANA IVANOVIC:  Yeah, definitely.  Very happy with the victory.  It’s never very easy playing first round, but also playing against such an opponent who mixes up lot.  It’s a lefty and very well suited to the grass‑court game.  I’m really happy and proud that I got through that third set, because it wasn’t easy till the end.

Read the rest of this entry »