Archives for the day of: June 4, 2012

A. MURRAY/R. Gasquet 1‑6, 6‑4, 6‑1, 6‑2

 

ANDY MURRAY

 

Q.  You said you’d feed off the crowd’s energy, and you certainly rose to the challenge, by the looks of it.

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I think that was always going to be important today.  He obviously started the match well, but, yeah, I started to use the energy from the crowd in a positive way and obviously turned it around and played very well the last few sets.

Read the rest of this entry »

K. KANEPI/A. Rus 6‑1, 4‑6, 6‑0

 

KAIA KANEPI

 

 

Q.  My question is regarding your next opponent.  Do you think you can beat Maria now?

KAIA KANEPI:  If I play well, of course.  Why not?  But I have to play really well.

 

Q.  But you are difficult for her, right?

KAIA KANEPI:  Hopefully.

 

Q.  What do you think of her as a player and as a special character on the tour?

KAIA KANEPI:  I think she is a very good player of course and a great fighter and she hits really hard.

I just have to be ready.

 

Q.  And as a person and special character?

KAIA KANEPI:  I don’t know her as a person.

A. MURRAY/R. Gasquet 1‑6, 6‑4, 6‑1, 6‑2

RICHARD GASQUET

Q.  You started very well.  He finished very well.  Can you talk us through the match from your point of view?

RICHARD GASQUET:  I start better than the finish, for sure, the finish.  6‑2, not incredible, but, yeah, I start well.  I played well.  It was tense.  Yeah, I start well, I start well.

But after I think the key was the second set.  Playing good.  I was feeling confident.  No, he’s a big player.  Some points he can turn the match, because he’s doing everything good.  You have to work on every point.

He’s serving well, returning well, he’s clear in the court.  That’s the problem.

If I’m not lucky in the second set, I have two break points, he’s playing well, and I’m not lucky with this game, even the same at 5‑4.  But I think I can play better in the start of the third.

But after I start when he’s feeling confident, he has a lot of experience, and so after he play very well.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. NADAL/J. Monaco 6‑2, 6‑0, 6‑0

 

 

RAFAEL NADAL

 

 

Q.  Obviously today you were feeling pretty awesome on the court?

RAFAEL NADAL:  Yeah, I feel good, no?  After the beginning I started, when I had the first break, I started to play very well.

Before I didn’t play fantastic, but it’s true that he started the match playing aggressive, having good shots.

In my opinion, he was unlucky, unlucky in the first set.  That’s my feeling, no?  6‑2 was too much.

Later, sure, very happy the way I played.  I feel very, very sorry for him.  I think he’s playing probably the best tennis of his career, but probably not today after, especially the last set, no, when he start to miss, you know.  I saw him a little bit, you know, suffering a little bit on court at the end.

He’s one of my best friends on tour.  I feel very sorry for him.  But same time, you know, he’s playing great.  He’s having fantastic results.  He’s No. 14 or 15 in the world today.

I wish him all the best for the rest.  If he continues like this, he will have good chances to keep going.

Read the rest of this entry »

Y. SHVEDOVA/N. Li

 

3‑6, 6‑2, 6‑0

 

 

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA

 

Q.  In the third set you took an early lead, and you had no trouble to close it out.  Some players do.  But not in your case.  Can you explain to us how you felt so confident?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, I was just fighting every ball, and I was trying to focus how to go and focus on what I need to do.  And, believe me, I was thinking a lot ‑‑ it was coming with the thought about some girls losing here from 5‑1 and 5‑2.  I was like, no, no, no, I have to focus.  I have to fight, fight, fight, fight.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. SHARAPOVA/K. Zakopalova 6‑4, 6‑7, 6‑2

 

 

MARIA SHARAPOVA

 

 

 

Q.  That was one tough battle out there for you today.  What was the toughest?  The conditions?  Your opponent?

MARIA SHARAPOVA:  Yeah, combination of everything.  My opponent I thought played extremely well, the best that she’s played against me.  I have played her a few times already.

You know, she’s dangerous.  She can play well, you know, because, well, first of all, she’s had very good wins, so she’s confident.  On top of that, when she hits the ball, I think some days she goes out there and goes for it, and it seems like everything just goes in and stays so low over the net.

I mean, a great example is when I was up in that first match point, I mean, she was just drilling the ball.  I’m sure some other days she goes out and makes mistakes.  And that’s probably why she came to this tournament not seeded.  But she’s certainly dangerous.

Yeah, the conditions were difficult, so it was a good test for me.  You know, I had chances to finish it in two sets, and I didn’t.  But I came out strong in the third set, and I guess that’s, you know, really what matters and nice to be in the quarters again.

Read the rest of this entry »

Y. SHVEDOVA/N. Li 3‑6, 6‑2, 6‑0

 

 

NA LI

 

Q.  What went wrong in the second set?  You were confident in the first set.

NA LI:  Nothing wrong the second set.  I mean, this is tennis.

Read the rest of this entry »

J. DEL POTRO/T. Berdych 7‑6, 1‑6, 6‑3, 7‑5

 

 

JUAN MARTIN DEL POTRO

 

 

Q.  That was some match.  Just give us a sense of your emotion, having to restart, having to come back today and start again.  What were you thinking last night and what were you thinking this morning?

JUAN MARTIN DEL POTRO:  Well, I have a bad experience in this tournament last year.  I was playing much better than Djokovic, and then the lights condition have to stop the match.  I don’t have the good experience in this case.

I get up very positive, trying to close the match in the fourth set, and I start ‑‑ I restart the match very focus, broke his serve, and then he play better.

But in the end, I was really, really focused to try to win the fourth set, and I did it in the last game, playing really well.

Read the rest of this entry »

J. TSONGA/S. Wawrinka 6‑4, 7‑6, 3‑6, 3‑6, 6‑4

 

 

STANISLAS WAWRINKA

 

 

Q.  I would like to get back to yesterday.  Did you think the conditions were fair in the fifth set?  Secondly, what do you think about the fact that the Del Potro match has been stopped 20 minutes before your match?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yeah, for sure, the fifth set was really tough to play, but was the same for him and for me.  Was complaining a lot.

I still don’t understand why they don’t have light here, because every year it’s the same problem, actually.  Yesterday the schedule was one more match after us, so it’s a big problem because it’s a big change.  If you see ‑‑ if you see US Open and Australian Open, they have light.  They have the same schedule, but they have light.  So many matches we finish really late.  Wimbledon they don’t, but we start much more early, and we play on more courts.

So for sure I think it’s a big problem, but I don’t know if they want to change or not.

Read the rest of this entry »

J. TSONGA/S. Wawrinka 6‑4, 7‑6, 3‑6, 3‑6, 6‑4

 

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA

 

 

Q.  Last night, as the evening was falling, not knowing if you were able to finish the match or not, was it hard to concentrate in the fourth set and the fifth set, and how did you prepare yourself mentally for this morning after this interruption?

JO‑WILFRIED TSONGA:  Yeah, yesterday was tough.  It was dark at the end and tough to continue, so the umpire decide to play today.  I don’t know if it was great for me or not, but anyway, it was like that.

Today I came on the court with the good spirit.  You know, I had a good night.  I slept well.

This morning, you know, I was ready to play again.

Read the rest of this entry »