J. TSONGA/S. Wawrinka 6‑4, 7‑6, 3‑6, 3‑6, 6‑4

 

 

STANISLAS WAWRINKA

 

 

Q.  I would like to get back to yesterday.  Did you think the conditions were fair in the fifth set?  Secondly, what do you think about the fact that the Del Potro match has been stopped 20 minutes before your match?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yeah, for sure, the fifth set was really tough to play, but was the same for him and for me.  Was complaining a lot.

I still don’t understand why they don’t have light here, because every year it’s the same problem, actually.  Yesterday the schedule was one more match after us, so it’s a big problem because it’s a big change.  If you see ‑‑ if you see US Open and Australian Open, they have light.  They have the same schedule, but they have light.  So many matches we finish really late.  Wimbledon they don’t, but we start much more early, and we play on more courts.

So for sure I think it’s a big problem, but I don’t know if they want to change or not.

Q.  Are you going now to prepare grass, the Olympics?  You have to defend that gold medal with Roger.  What are your plans for the next weeks?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yeah, to go on grass, for sure.  Normally I’m supposed to play Queen’s next week.

THE MODERATOR:  Questions in French.

 

Q.  Could you tell us how you’re feeling.  Obviously you looked extremely disappointed when you walked out of the court.  How was last night, the night, how did you arrive this morning, and how about this very short match this morning?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Well, of course it wasn’t easy.  I’m very disappointed.  I’m also tired.  I’m starting to feel the fatigue and all the efforts I’ve made during all the matches.

All the efforts that I had to ‑‑ that I’ve had to make during the whole week, and now the pressure is sort of dropping.

It wasn’t easy last night, but it can’t have been easy for him, either.  It probably was even more difficult.  We were very tense this morning.  There was a lot of tension on both sides.

I broke him back, because he was very tense and very quickly he started making errors, but then we started playing long rallies again, long points, and he got back into the match again.

Unfortunately, I could not win those two, three points that I really should have won.

 

Q.  Regrets?  But you’re not blaming yourself on anything?  Because throughout the matches, you’ve shown what you’re worth.

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yes, I’m very happy about the tournament.  I think I have had a very good tournament, except maybe for the first match in five sets.  Maybe it shouldn’t have been five sets, but I had a few physical issues.

I defeated Andujar and I defeated Gilles Simon, who is very good this season on clay.  He was very confident.  I had to defeat him on his own turf.

So overall I felt like I was lacking those 10, 15% of stamina, the capacity to react, maybe something I lost against Gilles Simon that I was missing here.

I knew that physically I could have played for five hours, but I had that little capacity to react that was missing to ‑‑ and then I should have been able to put more pressure on him.  I should have fought more.  I should have made him move.  I should have waited for him to sort of slacken a bit so that I could try something else, I could try to hit harder, move to the net, and put a lot of pressure on him.

In the end, it was that we did a five‑setter, although I was two sets to love down.

So, yes, I’m very disappointed to losing the round of 16 on a very big match.  Last year I won; this year he wins.

We should not disregard that.  He deserves it.  He gave it all during the match.  He looked for solutions.  Maybe he did a bit more in the beginning of the fifth set, and he sort of revved up, and this year he wins.

 

Q.  Last year you defeated Jo on the fitness.  He didn’t hold to the end of the match.  Now, do you think that this year he’s a different athlete?  What about his match against Djokovic?  Do you think he can roughen up Djokovic?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  I don’t think he’s a different athlete.  Maybe last year he was just a bit tired or maybe mentally tired.  It’s very difficult to be two sets to love up and then all of a sudden you start losing.  You know, the further you go into the match and the harder it gets.

He probably has left a lot of stamina in the first rounds, and that was the reason why last year all of a sudden he crapped out, but at that stage of the competition I’ve always said that he is a dangerous player here in Roland.  I think he can do something great.  He’s playing on his own turf, and that means he’s even more motivated.  He’s got that something that allows him to play really well.

Now, against Djokovic, obviously it’s going to depend very much on Djokovic’s fitness.  I think that between yesterday and today Jo probably also grew tired.  It might be a bit more complex.

 

Q.  You play very many five‑set matches.  Is there an explanation?  Is it because you play better when you’re two sets to love down?  What’s the explanation?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Well, it’s very straightforward.  I know I can hold on for a very long time, and I know that I can play for three or four hours without losing any fitness.  On the contrary, I usually improve when the others grow tired.  I did a five‑set match against Gilles Simon, because I couldn’t defeat him in three sets.  That’s it.  Because he’s a big player, because he’s ranked 11.  Because I had to wait for him to lose stamina so I could sort of ramp up and reach my best level, ramp up the match, dominating.

Against Jo it was the same thing.  Again, I probably lost something in the first rounds, and I was not 100% there physically, although I can resist at 80% of my physical capacity.  That’s my strength.  I can fight for several hours, and he has to fight more to win the remaining two sets.

 

Q.  Which were the key moments of your defeat, the break in the fifth or the end of the second set when you had a few set points?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  The keys to my defeat ‑‑ well, if I could rewind the match and analyze it several times like we did with Gilles Simon, on a five‑set match and a long match that I had some ups and downs, opportunities on both sides, and if I won the second set, it would have changed the match.  And if he had done 6 to 4, he probably would have won in three sets.

So, you know, it’s very difficult.  I don’t know.  If I had won that set or that game, maybe I would have won the match, but I don’t know.  We know in a very long match that there will be ups and downs for both players.

In the end, he was simply slightly better in the fifth set, and that made the difference.

 

Q.  So you have no regrets on a number of specific points?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  No.  I have a few regrets, obviously, like I always have in all matches, but I don’t have like regrets regarding one or two points that may have completely overturned the match.

Because I think I did the best I could.  I tried to focus on my plan.  I continued to attack.  And if I think about the fifth set, he broke me twice, but I played close to the net.  Okay.  I accept it.  Sometimes I need to take opportunities and take the initiative on players like him.  The way I can defeat sometimes top 3 or top 5 players is because I attack them.

 

Q.  It was great the end when you took each other in your arms.  Can you tell us about something?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  No, I said, Congratulations, you deserve it, and I’m very happy that you play in front of your crowd and on your own turf.

 

Q.  You said that you can fight for four hours.  Do you prefer best‑of‑five matches or do you prefer shorter matches?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Simply, I prefer best of five.  Grand Slam matches, Davis Cup, those tournaments for which we practice and for which we set our objectives.

 

Q.  So it increases your chances of winning such matches?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yes and no.  If you look at the results, you see that those players I can also defeat him in three‑set matches, and I can defeat them in five‑set matches.

So I don’t think it changes the results, really.

 

Q.  If you were to compare between the level you had in the year 2010, 2011, and today, do you think you’ve improved?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  I do believe I have improved.  I play better, I do more things.  And if I look at the previous years, maybe I was defending too much and I was playing long matches, waiting for the others to give up.

This year I’m doing things differently against a player like Gilles Simon.  The match was long, and I wanted for him to crack up physically.

But I also attacked him very much, and that’s the reason why he grew tired.  I accepted the risk of making errors, because I knew I had to attack.  And that was the solution to defeat him.

And today I played exactly like that, and I thought that was the option I needed to choose to continue in the same direction and continue playing good matches and stick to my plan.

 

Q.  So that aggressive frame of mind, is that something you’ve worked on?

STANISLAS WAWRINKA:  Yes, of course.  I have been trying for several years to be more aggressive and to move to the net more, to play forward.

Now, it’s difficult to actually implement it during a match, but maybe for the last few months I have been really trying hard to do it every time, and I know it’s a risk.  I know it’s a liability.  I may lose.

And sometimes I would have easily reverted to my old style of play and I might have won the match.  But, no, I’m going to stick to my plan, and we will see at the end of the year.

