A. MURRAY/R. Gasquet 1‑6, 6‑4, 6‑1, 6‑2

 

ANDY MURRAY

 

Q.  You said you’d feed off the crowd’s energy, and you certainly rose to the challenge, by the looks of it.

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I think that was always going to be important today.  He obviously started the match well, but, yeah, I started to use the energy from the crowd in a positive way and obviously turned it around and played very well the last few sets.

Q.  Do you enjoy playing in a hostile atmosphere like that?  Do you think it ever got too much maybe in the end?

ANDY MURRAY:  I wouldn’t say it got too much.  I mean, yeah, it’s almost like playing a sort of a football match.  And I like football.  I enjoyed ‑‑ I mean, I enjoyed myself on the court today.

It’s the most fun I’ve had on the court in a while, so I wasn’t so sort of shying away from the fact that the crowd wanted me to lose.

Q.  Fun in terms of the atmosphere, in terms of the way you’re playing, or both?

ANDY MURRAY:  Everything.  It wasn’t ‑‑ I mean, I think some of the shots at the end, there was a lot of really good rallies.  I played some really nice tennis the last few sets.  And then, yeah, I mean, I haven’t really played in an atmosphere like that before in terms of I played Davis Cup a few times away from home, but that was probably one of the most hostile that I’ve played in.

Q.  It didn’t seem like a particularly warm handshake at the end.  Was there any problems out there between the two of you?

ANDY MURRAY:  Not ‑‑ I mean, not from my side.  Whether or not there was from his side, I don’t know.  You’d have to ask him.

Q.  When you look back and reflect on the match, how important were the two break points in the second set, 4‑All?  Do you think they were big points for you?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, they were very important.  I mean, obviously from that ‑‑ was the third set 6‑1?

Q.  Yeah.

ANDY MURRAY:  I think I went up 5‑0, so I won seven games in a row after that, and, you know, I hit a volley onto the baseline on one of them and went for my shots, so deserved to come back into the match.

But, yeah, you never know.  I’ve turned the match around against him from two sets to nothing down, and they were important to get me into the match and obviously to go on the run that I did.  I still would have fought even if I’d have lost them.

Q.  He was a bit annoyed.  He said you got some lucky shots in the second set, and he was a bit annoyed on that point where he said that you shouldn’t have asked ‑‑ he asked the umpire to come down from the chair, and he said that you said that he shouldn’t have done that, you shouldn’t have asked the umpire ‑‑ that he shouldn’t have asked the umpire.

ANDY MURRAY:  Which part of the answer you want me to answer?  The lucky part?  The lucky shots?

Q.  He seemed to think there were quite a few lucky shots and he’d been unlucky, but then he was a bit annoyed by the fact that he had asked the umpire to check the mark and you said he shouldn’t have done that.

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I mean, maybe some of the shots I hit were lucky.  I don’t know.  Maybe they were.

And then, yeah, sometimes, you know, if you’re the one on the court, you know, when the crowd’s obviously against you, you know, there’s a few close line calls back and forward.  If you query a line call, you get booed.  But then when he does one, it’s sort of cheered.

So, yeah, maybe I used that ‑‑ you know, when I circled the mark and it was clearly out, maybe I used that, you know, to give me that extra push at the end of the second set.

Then, yeah, if he was unhappy with that, then, well, that’s his problem.  He should have just tried to get on with it.

Q.  Looking into the quarterfinals, Alex Corretja is in an intriguing position, looking into this match.  Can you tell us what did you learn from him about the way Ferrer plays on clay and…

ANDY MURRAY:  I’m sorry, I didn’t hear the start.  Alex Corretja said what?  Oh, intriguing position?  Sorry.  Yeah.

Q.  What did you learn from him about Ferrer’s game on clay and in general the Spanish, and what do you think he can tell Ferrer about your weaknesses and strengths on the clay?

ANDY MURRAY:  Well, obviously I got a lot of help from Alex for a few years, not just on clay, but on all of the surfaces.

Yeah, I mean, I think now there’s not that many secrets about guys’ games.  He’s been on the tour now nine or ten years.  I think I have been on the tour like seven years now.  I have played him many times, and we’ve practiced together a lot.  I know his game well; he knows mine.

It will be up to who plays the better tennis on the day.  I don’t necessarily think that Alex will be able to help him a lot.  Maybe he’ll give him some bits of advice, but I also think in the last 18 months or so, however long it’s been since I started working with Alex, there will be things hopefully I will have improved on, as well.

Q.  Just checking on your back.  Any problems getting it kind of warmed up, especially given the weather today?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, it was not ‑‑ obviously not ideal conditions for that, and, yeah, I mean, it’s a little bit stiff, but it’s much better than it was a few days ago.

Obviously, you know, played some good tennis.  And again, a bit like when I played against Nieminen and I was moving very well at the end of the match.  The same today.

So hopefully the conditions will warm up a little bit in the next few days.

Q.  When you’re carrying an injury at a tournament like you have the last couple of years, does that change your approach to the points or to your game at all?

ANDY MURRAY:  No, not really.  You try and just play and put it to the back of your mind as best as possible, but you try not to make wrong decisions just because you have a niggle.

Q.  When you fought back against a guy before a couple of times from sort of hopeless positions in some way, is what it looked like, does that give you confidence, then, when you lose the first set like you did today?  Do you think that still plays on his mind?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, well, I guess it plays on his mind.  And, yeah, today, you know, when I went a set behind, it was obviously tough and he was playing the better tennis.  But I knew if I hung in ‑‑ you know, he seemed a little bit like he didn’t want to play that many long rallies.

He was going for big shots early in the rallies, and once I managed to get into some longer rallies and see his game a bit better, then that was what changed the match.  And then I was able to dictate the points, change my tactics a little bit, and that was the difference.

Q.  With the way you played in the latter stages against Nieminen and then Saturday’s match and now today, do you feel you’re building some real momentum?

ANDY MURRAY:  Well, I feel like I’m playing well.  I’m striking the ball cleanly.  The tournament has been difficult for a few reasons.  But a lot of the changing conditions has been tough for all the players, because, you know, it was 33 degrees on the court the other day, and today it was like 14, 15, and very slow and heavy conditions.

So, you know, that’s what’s been challenging about it.  But I’m playing well, hitting the ball, hitting the ball good.

Q.  Ferrer is obviously one of the toughest guys to play, particularly on this surface.  Is it a challenge that you enjoy playing somebody like him?

ANDY MURRAY:  Well, I mean, I think he’s one of the toughest guys to play on any surface.  He’s No. 5, 6 in the world, and he’s been there for a long time now.  He’s had a good clay court season so far.

And, yeah, I’ve always found it tough against him on clay in matches and in practice.  You know, I train with him quite a lot, and I get on very well with him.

Like I say, we know each other’s games very well, and he’s one of the best players in the world on any surface, so it’s going to be a tough match.

Q.  You’ve never beaten him on clay before.  Is that a factor or is that not something going to bother you?

ANDY MURRAY:  We’ll see on the day.  Every match is different.  You know, a lot of the clay courts play differently:  quicker, slower.  Conditions change things.

We’ll just see, you know, in a couple of days whether having lost to him a few times on the clay before or not is a factor or not.

