Archives for the day of: June 25, 2012

H. WATSON/I. Benesova 6‑2, 6‑1

 

HEATHER WATSON

 

 

Q.  Best win?  Best performance?

HEATHER WATSON:  I was very pleased with how I played today.  I prepared myself as best as I could.

Today I was watching videos of my opponent playing, so I was going in confident.  I’d been practicing well.  I’d mentally prepared myself, as well.

I just had so much fun out there today.  I was pleased that we got put on centre.  I’ve never played on centre before.  But it was tough hanging round all day and not knowing what court we were going to be on, but it worked out for the better.

Read the rest of this entry »

E. GULBIS/T. Berdych 7‑6, 7‑6, 7‑6

 

ERNESTS GULBIS

 

 

Q.  When we see you playing like that, we don’t understand why you didn’t win more matches the last 10 or 15 months.  But you must know why.

ERNESTS GULBIS:  I have been really working hard last month with the new coach, in a new place.  I did good preparation here the week before.  That’s the result, you know.  I really enjoy working with my new coach, Gunther Bresnik.  He’s based in Austria.  First time I came to him and his academy I asked him to come to Paris and then Wimbledon as well.

It’s really been good.  He really helped me a lot.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. FALLA/J. Isner 6‑4, 6‑7, 3‑6, 7‑6, 7‑5

 

JOHN ISNER

 

Q.  Do you feel that one got away from you?  And how so?

JOHN ISNER:  Yeah, it did.  It did.  I didn’t put my opponent away.  I had my chances, and I didn’t do it.  It’s all on me.  Was just not great on my part.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/A. Ramos 6‑1, 6‑1, 6‑1

 

ROGER FEDERER

 

 

Q.  You got a chance to work on your serve and volley a lot today.  How did it feel?

ROGER FEDERER:  Yeah, I was able to do that a bit more than I thought I could.  I was happy with the way things progressed during the match.  I was able to return well, almost break him every single time.

It was a good match for me, obviously.  I felt very good out there today.

Read the rest of this entry »

M. SHARAPOVA/A. Rodionova 6‑2, 6‑3

 

MARIA SHARAPOVA

 

 

Q.  How was that for you today?

MARIA SHARAPOVA:  Yeah, the first one’s always tricky.  To go out there after not competing for a couple weeks, the transition from clay to grass, I thought I started off the match really well.  Had a few letdowns towards the end of both of those sets.

Overall I’m pretty happy with the way I performed, especially for a first match, not having matches coming in.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/J. Ferrer 6‑3, 6‑3, 6‑1

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

Q.  One of the websites was saying you took a golf club out on court.  Can you clear that up?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  It was a little joke we wanted to do with my sponsor, Head.  They provided me with a junior golf club.  They have, I don’t know if you noticed, but all the Head players, they have the bags which look like golf bags because you can place them the way the golf bag is standing, you know.

So it was a little funny thing.  Being creative, that’s all.  But fans corrected me right away.  They said, This is not a golf course.  I said, Okay.

Read the rest of this entry »

G. ZEMLJA/J. Goodall 6‑4, 3‑6, 7‑6, 6‑4

 

JOSH GOODALL

 

 

Q.  Tight game.  He won the crucial games.  Is that a fair description?

JOSH GOODALL:  Yeah, I was looking at one of the boards, and it was coming up with stats at the change of ends and I saw that even in the fourth set he was only like five or six points ‑‑ well, the third set was the big one, the tiebreak.  I thought it was really crucial.  I was up a break as well.

If I had consolidated that break straightaway, it could have been different.  If I’m putting myself in these situations and I’m not taking advantage of them, I’m disappointed.

Read the rest of this entry »

J. TIPSAREVIC/D. Nalbandian 6‑4, 7‑6, 6‑2

 

DAVID NALBANDIAN

 

 

Q.  Did you feel it was a tough draw when you first saw who you were going to be playing?

DAVID NALBANDIAN:  Well, when you’re not seeded you can play with everybody.  So I think playing with Janko in the first round is a very tough first round, but that’s the way it is.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. RADWANSKA/M. Rybarikova 6‑3, 6‑3

 

AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA

 

Q.  Was it much harder than you think the scoreline suggested?

AGNIESZKA RADWANSKA:  Yes, I think so.  It was a long match for those two sets, especially on grass.  You know, also, the first match is always very difficult, different courts and different tournament, and also that court was actually much slower than the others.  And also a lot of breaks.

So it was a bit of a weird match, but I’m just very happy I could close it.  I was in a little bit of trouble in the second set, but…

Read the rest of this entry »

S. LISICKI/P. Martic 6‑4, 6‑2

 

SABINE LISICKI

 

 

Q.  Can you just tell me how you feel about winning today after some disappointments the last couple of months?

SABINE LISICKI:  Definitely good.  I mean, it’s my favorite tournament, so it’s nice to be back and winning your first match, especially after how I did last year.  Just exciting to be back.

Read the rest of this entry »