Archives for the day of: June 3, 2012

S. STOSUR/S. Stephens 7‑5, 6‑4

 

 

SAMANTHA STOSUR

 

Q.  For the Aussies it was a bit tense in the stands.  How did you feel out in the court?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, for sure the start was, I guess, pretty tense, like you said.  I mean, she came out playing very well.  I felt like I was struggling to kinda get into it, like I played a good point and a couple of bad ones.

She came out playing very aggressive and kinda got me off guard, I think.  I went down that break and got a little bit mad with myself and then recomposed, and, yeah, really tough to come back from 5‑3.

I think that 5‑All game was huge for both of us.  Luckily I was the one that got through and was kinda able to step it up and get on a little bit of a roll from that point.

Read the rest of this entry »

S. STOSUR/S. Stephens 7‑5, 6‑4

 

SLOANE STEPHENS

 

 

Q.  If someone told you before this tournament started you’d make the fourth round, be in contention for the Olympic team, does it make the trip worth it, even though what happened today?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Yeah, definitely.  The whole thing is worth it.  So much fun to just be out there and just play, you know.  I don’t know.  Some people can’t even play tennis, so for me, it’s just like ‑‑ when you think about it, it’s not bad at all.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/D. Goffin 5‑7, 7‑5, 6‑2, 6‑4

 

DAVID GOFFIN

 

 

 

Q.  In the first two sets it looked like you were writing a fairytale.  Unfortunately fairytales don’t exist.  But was it still a very nice day for you being on court with your idol?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Yes, it was a very nice day, very nice match.  I start very well early in the match, I was playing aggressive, and with my backhand, and, yeah, it was great.  But I give all my best during all the match.

I was a little bit tired at the end, because I play a lot of match in this tournament, but it’s okay.  No regrets.

I give all I had.

Read the rest of this entry »

R. FEDERER/D. Goffin 5‑7, 7‑5, 6‑2, 6‑4

 

 

ROGER FEDERER

 

 

Q.  In terms of players who have made a first impression on you, where would you rate David Goffin?

ROGER FEDERER:  I thought he played really well.  Great impression.  You know, he took the ball early every time.  Don’t hit a very good shot, he can take advantage of that.

I guess for his size and, you know, he’s not the heaviest guy out there, it’s natural he’s gonna be a good mover, and his strengths lie sort of in the baseline game, right?  That’s what he showed today.  He’s got great potential in terms of his touch and the way he reads the game.  I thought it was an interesting match.

Obviously in some ways I guess it’s tough for me coming out not knowing exactly what his favorite patterns are in the game, the way he serves, when he does what.

But, no, he impressed me, and I enjoyed the match today.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/A. Seppi

 

4‑6, 6‑7, 6‑3, 7‑5, 6‑3

 

NOVAK DJOKOVIC

 

 

Q.  How relieved are you to come through that one?

NOVAK DJOKOVIC:  Well, you’re always happy and relieved when you win.  So that’s what matters the most today.

Read the rest of this entry »

N. DJOKOVIC/A. SEPPI 4‑6, 6‑7, 6‑3, 7‑5, 6‑3

 

 

ANDREAS SEPPI

 

Q.  Bad luck.  Well played.  Two sets to love up.  What was going through your mind?  What were you telling yourself that you had to do at two sets to love up?

ANDREAS SEPPI:  Nothing special, just keep playing like this.  And I was pretty, I mean, relaxed.  Also, if I was two sets up, maybe I didn’t start so well the third set, first game.

It was a poor game, and the other same maybe in the fourth set.

I didn’t have so good start.  Maybe if I could stay in front or so in the third set, could change a little bit.

And that’s the only thing I could do better, I think, to just start a little bit better there, the third set.

D. CIBULKOVA/V. Azarenka 6‑2, 7‑6

 

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA

 

 

Q.  I was doing TV commentary on the match, and we kept looking at your head‑to‑head with her, and I was thinking in Miami in March, thinking of these matches, especially when you go 5‑2 up in the second, I want to know what’s going through your mind there.  Because, you know, you can’t be human if you’re not thinking about those previous matches.

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA:  Yeah, of course.  As you said, you can’t be human if you weren’t thinking about that.  Because this year in Miami I was 6‑1, 5‑2 up against her, and a pretty similar thing happened.  And to last year in Miami it was the same.  Like I think I was still 6‑2, 4‑2 up again, and I lost.

So actually today it happened the same when I was 4‑2 up.  And that’s why I got a little bit ‑‑ not nervous, but a little bit more ‑‑ not going for my shots anymore.

But today it was a great thing that, you know, I managed to go through these emotions.  She was 6‑5 up, and I said, hey, come on, you know, you have to play your game again and just make it.

And for the tiebreak I’m very, very proud of myself that I was still going for my shots, and I just made it because she would never give me the match, and I just ‑‑ I just made it.

Read the rest of this entry »

D. CIBULKOVA/V. Azarenka 6‑2, 7-6

 

VICTORIA AZARENKA

 

Q.  What went wrong today for you?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Pretty much everything, really.  I don’t know how to describe my performance really today.  It wasn’t satisfying at all.  It wasn’t satisfying being out there playing that way.

But I guess it happens, you know.  I don’t know even what to find positive really in my performance today.  But, well, it’s been too little time.  Maybe in a few hours I’ll find something that I can be happy with.

Read the rest of this entry »

A. KERBER/P. Martic 6‑3, 7‑5

 

 

ANGELIQUE KERBER

 

 

 

            Q.  First of all, congratulations.  You became No. 10 in the world.  You seem going on and on and on.  Great results at US Open.  Here again.  And now you have also an Italian player again that you have to play.  Can you tell also what you know about Errani and what you expect?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, I know she played very well this year, and I played against her in Auckland or in Hobart, I think.  Yes, so I know she’s a good player on clay.  And, I mean, she beat here a great player, so it will be for sure a tough match.  I expect a good match.

  Read the rest of this entry »

A. KERBER/P. Martic 6‑3, 7‑5

 

PETRA MARTIC

 

Q.  You put up a good fight today but came up short.  What do you think was missing today to go through?

PETRA MARTIC:  Well, I think I lost this match in the first set.  I started too nervous.  Too many things were running through my head and a lot of emotions.  What if I play bad?  What if I play well?

It’s all part of the experience.  This was my first time in the fourth round.  I think next time I’m definitely going to rank differently.

Second set I started to play more freely.  I let it go and started enjoying the game.  I think that’s why it was so competitive in the second set.

Unfortunately she broke me at 5‑All.  It was not really greatest game for me, especially such an important part of the match.

But anyway, I think it was good all in all.  Definitely it was a great tournament for me.

Read the rest of this entry »