A. KERBER/P. Martic 6‑3, 7‑5

 

PETRA MARTIC

 

Q.  You put up a good fight today but came up short.  What do you think was missing today to go through?

PETRA MARTIC:  Well, I think I lost this match in the first set.  I started too nervous.  Too many things were running through my head and a lot of emotions.  What if I play bad?  What if I play well?

It’s all part of the experience.  This was my first time in the fourth round.  I think next time I’m definitely going to rank differently.

Second set I started to play more freely.  I let it go and started enjoying the game.  I think that’s why it was so competitive in the second set.

Unfortunately she broke me at 5‑All.  It was not really greatest game for me, especially such an important part of the match.

But anyway, I think it was good all in all.  Definitely it was a great tournament for me.

Q.  So you had a great run at this tournament.  What are the positives from this tournament?

PETRA MARTIC:  Well, I don’t I see too many negative things, to tell you honestly, besides few unforced errors today that I shouldn’t have made.

But this is going to give me a lot of confidence for the future.  I mean, I proved myself I can play against the best players in the world.  Today, even though I didn’t play great at the beginning, it was, I think, a competitive match and a lot of good points.

So I’m looking forward to the next tournaments definitely.  The most important thing is that I started to enjoy clay courts and the game here, so it’s a big step forward for me.

Q.  Talk about Angelique’s game.

PETRA MARTIC:  She’s very tough.  She’s very tough competitor, so she gets back a lot of balls.  She doesn’t give you too many free points.  The faster you play, the faster she plays.  It’s like playing against a wall basically.

You really have to work a lot, very hard to win every point.  That’s why she’s so tough to beat.

