A. KERBER/P. Martic 6‑3, 7‑5

 

 

ANGELIQUE KERBER

 

 

 

            Q.  First of all, congratulations.  You became No. 10 in the world.  You seem going on and on and on.  Great results at US Open.  Here again.  And now you have also an Italian player again that you have to play.  Can you tell also what you know about Errani and what you expect?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, I know she played very well this year, and I played against her in Auckland or in Hobart, I think.  Yes, so I know she’s a good player on clay.  And, I mean, she beat here a great player, so it will be for sure a tough match.  I expect a good match.

 

            Q.  What was the key of your win?  How do you explain that you are No. 96 I think at the US Open few months ago, and now you’re one of the top players in the world?  What has changed?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I think after the US Open I start to believe in me more.  And also I continue my practice and do a lot of fitness things.  So I think that’s the things to ‑‑ yes.

 

            Q.  How many kilos have you lost, if I can ask?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  It’s not too much, not too much.

 

            Q.  What do you think made the difference today against Petra?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, today it was a tough match.  I mean, I am not playing my best tennis, and it was not the best match I played.

            But, I mean, I just try to stay in the match and try to play a little bit aggressive, but it’s not working the whole two sets.

            But, yeah, I mean, I just try to play point by point, and at the end it was just two, three points what decide the match.

 

            Q.  You are still undefeated in Paris.  You won in February.

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Uh‑huh.

 

            Q.  And do you think of yourself as a favorite for…

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, for sure.  Paris is one of my favorite places.  I mean, I won here my first WTA tournament.  So I have a lot of good weeks and days here, and I hope the next week and days will continue.

 

            Q.  You spoke about fitness, but can you talk a little bit about your mental improvement maybe since last year and whether or not that’s been important for you?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, for sure.  I mean, mentally I’m also better than last year.  I’m just focus on me and not on other things.  Just try to play really point by point and give my best on the court.

            I think that’s very important for me, because, I mean, like some months ago, after I hit the ball like, you know, out or in the net, I was thinking the next few points about this, so I think that’s change, also.

 

            Q.  Talk about the player who ‑‑ I think it was 2007 you lost to Dementieva.  How much better you are now than you were then, just your overall development?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I think I improve a lot from this time.  Also, I have a lot of confidence and I know I can beat the top players.  Now I’m one of them, and it’s a good feeling.

 

            Q.  So it’s also different being a top player which you are now than maybe eight months ago when people are saying, Oh, here’s this girl, we don’t know her so well.  So now players come out against you and you’re seeded.  Has that been an adjustment for you also?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, for sure.  It’s a new situation.  I mean, I play from the beginning of the year good, and I think the players know right now who I am, and, yeah, I mean, I think nobody wants to play against me right now.

 

            Q.  So are you surprised at all by your success?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, I mean, I’m not surprised, because I know that some ‑‑ yeah, that I can play good.  I also show this years ago that I can play good matches against top players, but I never win these matches.  That’s changed.  Now I play good, and also I can win the matches against the top players, and I think that’s changed, yeah.

 

            Q.  Can you tell us if someone asked you what is the best quality of Sara Errani, what the best thing she has, what would you answer?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I think the movement.  She moves very well and is a fighter.

 

            Q.  And between forehand and backhand, do you think there is a difference, or not really?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I don’t think so.  No, not really.

 

            Q.  You’re still a young player.  You’re rising.  You had the great finish or the great run in New York.  When in your mind do you think, hey, you know what?  I can win this thing here in Paris?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Oh, I mean, I’m not thinking to win this year.  I mean, I just thinking to play round by round, and because now I know that I need to improve and play better like today to win like the quarters against Errani, because, yeah, today ‑‑ like I say, I didn’t play my best, and the matches will be tougher, and we will see.

 

            Q.  And you’ve been asked this many times, but if, again, you could comment, there was a little bit of a dry spell in German tennis after Steffi, and now there has been a tremendous surge, many players.  Can you talk about exactly why that’s happened?

            ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I don’t know why, but it’s good for Germany that we have a lot of top players right now.  After Steffi Graf, there was a long break, and now we are, I don’t know, five or six good players.

            And it’s good.  I mean, we know each other and we are friends, and, yeah ‑‑ yeah, we practice like from the beginning together.  But everybody goes her own way, and it’s good to see that, yeah, the girls you practice from the young age are also good and playing very well.

