S. STOSUR/S. Stephens 7‑5, 6‑4

 

SLOANE STEPHENS

 

 

Q.  If someone told you before this tournament started you’d make the fourth round, be in contention for the Olympic team, does it make the trip worth it, even though what happened today?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Yeah, definitely.  The whole thing is worth it.  So much fun to just be out there and just play, you know.  I don’t know.  Some people can’t even play tennis, so for me, it’s just like ‑‑ when you think about it, it’s not bad at all.

Q.  Talk about the match.  It was a pretty weird atmosphere, kinda quiet in Court 1; you went up 5‑3 and then things kinda turned.

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Yeah, I know.  I was playing pretty well in the first set and I had my chances.  I served for the set; didn’t serve it out.

So, I mean, I was playing well, and second set made a little comeback.  Then it was a weird one, but you learn from it and, you know, take that.

 

Q.  Just on the match, you were very much there with her; looked like she was actually a little bit tighter than you in the beginning of the match.  She’s US Open champ.  How do you feel being right there with a player like that?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  No, yeah, really good.  I have been playing really well.  I have more confidence now and I’m kinda like coming into my own, I guess you could say.  I feel a lot better on the court, and, you know, the whole thing, the whole game is pretty much just believing in yourself.

People play well with confidence, and when you’re having fun and you’re, you know, doing the right things, everything’s all good.

So even though I lost today I played pretty well, I’d say, to play against, I guess, No. 6 seed and she’s top 10 in the world.

I thought it was okay.

 

Q.  Olympics, London, look doubtful.  What about Rio?  Are you thinking about that?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Um, sure.  (Laughter.)

It’s a long ways away, but if I don’t get this one, I’ll definitely try for the next.

 

Q.  Speaking of a long ways away, years from now when people come up to you and say, French Open 2012, what do you think the one or two words that will pop into your head will be?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Oh, so much fun.  So much fun.

I have had such a good time.  And even though every day I have been saying, Man, I can’t wait to get home to eat my grandpa’s curry crab, I don’t want to leave.

So it’s kind of bittersweet that I’m going home, but I had so much fun.

 

Q.  Do you know what the phrase, “Turning left” means?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  No, I don’t.  Can you enlighten me, please?

 

Q.  I will not enlighten you, but I will mention what it means.  It’s when you go on a plane, you turn left and you go to first class.  Are you turning left?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Oh, I’m turning left like five times.  (Laughter.)

Yeah, for sure.

 

Q.  Do you look at today as a match that came down to experience, to a certain extent, for you still?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Yeah, sorta kinda.  It was kind of a weird thing.  We played on a court that was ‑‑ there was really no people there.  There was no crowd.  There was nothing really.

So the tennis part probably came down to experience, and I wouldn’t say that it was like, Oh, my God, she was just like overwhelmingly whatever.

But definitely things to be learned on my part.

 

Q.  You were saying that you didn’t want to go home.  Is that because you kinda caught the Grand Slam competition bug where you feel like, I still want to be in this tournament?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Um, I think I catch that for every tournament, so I never want to leave a tournament unless I win it.

So, I mean, it’s kinda just like, Okay, I’ve gotta go home now.  But it’s okay because I have been here since Charleston, and it’s time for me.

 

Q.  Can I ask you about the last game.  Obviously she has more experience than you, but you were back in it; it was 5‑4; you went for some forehands; were a little impatient there; missed by this much.  Did you feel you were too impatient, or did you just say to yourself, I’ve gotta go for my shots?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  No, I was doing the same thing the whole time, and I kinda got unlucky on the last few points.  Obviously she was playing her game and doing what she thought she had to do.  She hit some pretty good shots.

When you’re standing back there it looks like she’s hitting the ball pretty soft, but she’s not.  So, I mean, I missed a few, and that was that.  But nothing really, like, oh, I wasn’t impatient or nothing like that.

 

Q.  Moving forward are you going to stay with Roger or thinking about some other things?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Yeah.  Everything is the same until the end of the year, yeah.

 

Q.  What do you like about Roger’s approach, his coaching?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Roger is an awesome person.  He has been very patient with me through this whole process and everything that I’ve been going through the last couple of years.

You know, we have worked well together, and he kinda understands me as a person, so I think that helps us on the court.

You know, he played men’s tennis, so he kinda gives me some men’s tips, I guess, and we teach each other.  Because I tell him stuff about girls, and he’s like, What?

So we teach each other, and we’ve had a good journey so far.

 

Q.  What does he teach you about men’s and what do you teach him about girls?

SLOANE STEPHENS:  Well, I can’t tell you that, because he’s gotten me so far.  Then I’d probably have to shoot you or something.  (Smiling.)

