Y. SHVEDOVA/N. Li

 

3‑6, 6‑2, 6‑0

 

 

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA

 

Q.  In the third set you took an early lead, and you had no trouble to close it out.  Some players do.  But not in your case.  Can you explain to us how you felt so confident?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, I was just fighting every ball, and I was trying to focus how to go and focus on what I need to do.  And, believe me, I was thinking a lot ‑‑ it was coming with the thought about some girls losing here from 5‑1 and 5‑2.  I was like, no, no, no, I have to focus.  I have to fight, fight, fight, fight.

Q.  It’s been an incredible two‑year journey for you from when you reached the quarterfinals here in 2010 to now.  Can you talk a little bit about that, maybe just the injuries, maybe losing some confidence?  Then this year, going to play all the ITF futures maybe to get your confidence back?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Yeah, after I did the quarters here in 2010, I had not success year of the singles.  But then I was focusing a lot on doubles, because then we qualified with Vania for Championships.

In the beginning of 2011 and after my first match, I had injury and I had surgery right after Australia.  After surgery I was recovering very long and I come back and my knee was bothering me for half year.

And then my coach left, and I had some tough periods mentally, as well, and I was very down and lonely.  Playing again doubles and couldn’t ‑‑ like lost all my singles points.

Since like September I got a new coach, and he helped me out a lot.  For this year we set a goal to get my ranking back, and I was working hard.  I had a great team around me and working with psychologist and everything, fitness coaches, and I am very thankful to my team.  It’s not only my work, it’s teamwork.

 

Q.  How hard was it on someone who had gotten to the top 30 and you won Grand Slams with Vania during Indian Wells and Miami, you went to Mexico, two different tournaments, you played the little tournaments where no one knows you, not a lot of glamour, probably not a lot of people watching.  What kind of experience was that like?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, it was nice, like I was interested to go and see Mexico, and even though it was small tournaments I been there before, and I’m like ‑‑ how you say?  I forgot the English.

Not spoiled and like I was feeling fine.  Even though it was nice atmosphere, there was no superstars on the tournament, and we were like big a big family.

It was great.  Atmosphere was a lot of nice people there.  I was staying in the housing.  Then I was ‑‑ yeah, I wish I can come back there.  And I keep playing those tournaments because of the atmosphere and the people around.

 

Q.  Did you make a special game plan against Li Na?  And after you won the first set, how did you change your plan to turn the match around?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, I had the same plan.  It’s just it didn’t work in the first set.  She was playing very good.  I was very nervous and like making mistakes and, yeah, it’s like played a bit wrong.

But then I figure out it and change my game, and she like start to attack more.

And I knew also before the match she’s defending champion, and she have a pressure to hold.  I was relaxed.  I was from the equally and it was my seventh match singles.  So it was just come to enjoy and try my best.

 

Q.  I’d like to go back to the subject of injury.  What was the reason of taking that surgery after the last year’s Australian Open?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, before even Australian Open I played invitational tournament, the Hopman Cup, the mixed, and we played against the Serbian, this match with Ivanovic, was my first match of the year.  I twist my knee on the one shot, like it was strong twist, and I was like scared and I checked my knee.  It was fine.  I finished the match.  I finished the mixed.

Next day I had a day off, and I had small, similar motion like of twisting.  And then after this motion, I couldn’t walk.  Like my coach said, Oh, sit down, maybe wait.  Still I couldn’t.  Like in one hour they made an MRI for me, and they said I turned my meniscus.  Then I found good surgeon in Melbourne, Dr. Young.  He made my surgery.

 

Q.  You have beaten top players before, but would you say this is perhaps the most significant, the biggest win of your career or at a very glamorous event?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Yeah, it’s the ‑‑ for now the most incredible win, I think, for me.  I always have nice matches against top players, because it’s easier, as I said, because I have no pressure, and I always come to beat them.  I don’t need to defend something like if I play with lower‑ranked players.

 

Q.  But now the pressure will be on you.  How do you think you’ll be able to cope going into your next match as a marked woman?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, I will try not to think of it, and I try to focus on my game and what I’m doing, getting my confidence and getting my game during this tournament.

I’ll try to adjust.  Even if some thoughts come to my head, I will try to put them away and focus on what I need to do.

 

Q.  As you said, you have played seven matches already.  Physically how do you feel now?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Oh, it’s been good scheduling this year for me.  I never play two matches in one day.  Even one day we were supposed to play doubles after my singles, but our opponents walk over.

So it was good, like because when I play doubles in a day off, it was becoming like a practice for me, like to wake up the body.  Then I feel even better.

 

Q.  Li Na said it’s only a normal match.  Do you think it is normal?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Yeah, I felt she was nervous a little bit.  She didn’t play maybe like she was playing last year.  She was doing some mistakes.  But I don’t know.  Maybe she was thinking a lot or maybe she’s not in the best shape.  Like I cannot tell for her.  Like you have to ask her.

 

Q.  You’ve won titles with Vania King.  Do you think your success in doubles help you to feel more confident in singles?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  Yeah, because we won Wimbledon.  It was most incredible trophy, as well.  Even it’s doubles, it’s still Wimbledon.  It’s the start of the tennis.  It’s the London.  It’s the history of the tennis.  It’s give you experience, and it give me like some matches behind me in the top stadiums and like in full crowd.

 

Q.  Now you are very famous in China now; lots of people talk about you on web, Internet; they are talking about everything about you, your glasses.  Can you tell us, are you shortsighted or just like wearing glasses?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  No, I have been wearing only sunglasses before.  And now like I had some tic in my eye.  Since like Fed Cup in China it was very tense.

I went to see the doctor, and I had some issues and they check my vision.  They said like I had some problem with the vision and maybe that’s why it was giving me some problem in the night sessions and it was artificial light.

And I tried to make also prescription glasses, because Oakley did it for me, no problem.  Now I play also with the prescription.  But when it’s the sun, it’s the prescription with the ‑‑ like against the sun, as well.

 

Q.  Why do you choose Emiliano Redondi?  What about your Argentinian team?

YAROSLAVA SHVEDOVA:  It’s like I had a list of the coaches.  Like in the US Open last year I was talking to my manager, and we were trying to choose the coach.

Like we said like we’re gonna do it after the tournament.  It was Sunday because we played doubles.  Then we sit down and we talk a lot, and she said she heard a lot of good things about him.  And he was.  He’s a great person and a great coach.  And I decide to try, and he come to Asia.

And it’s ‑‑ the team worked together, and then I had no problem to travel or to try new things.  He asked me to come to Buenos Aires, and I come without a problem.  And we make a good team with fitness coach and the physio.  Yeah.

