. GOFFIN/L. Kubot 7‑6, 7‑5, 6‑1

DAVID GOFFIN

Q.  What does it mean to you to have gone as far as you have.  Tell us a little bit about today’s victory.

DAVID GOFFIN:  Yeah, I’m feeling good, really good.  First time in the main draw of a Grand Slam.  I had three matches.  I had nothing to lose.  I wasn’t favorite, but I played my best tennis.

Today it was three sets, three not‑perfect sets, but I was playing really good today.  I’m really happy to win.

Q.  Is it hard for you to believe at all what you accomplished so far?

DAVID GOFFIN:  No, I don’t realize.  Not yet.  Not yet.  Maybe next week.

Now I’m playing against Roger, and I can’t believe it.  (Smiling.)  When I was young I had a lot of picture in my bedroom of him.

I will prepare this match like every match.  We will see.  I will give all my best in two days.

Q.  For someone who hasn’t seen you playing a lot, what are your best strokes, qualities, and weaknesses?

DAVID GOFFIN:  I’m feeling good with my backhand.  I prefer to play backhand down the line.  It’s my best shot.

But my forehand is good also this week.  I hope it will continue for all the season.  I hope I will play like this for a few years.

Q.  You consider yourself really lucky when you say lucky loser, or…

DAVID GOFFIN:  Yeah, I had a lot of chance.  I was lucky in last round, but now I have nothing to lose during three matches.

But, no, I think I had the level to play in the main draw, but now I won three matches and I can’t believe it.

Q.  On BBC radio today, we’re talk about famous Belgian sports stars.  Now you’re on the list.  Tomorrow there is a big football game, England against Belgium.  Will you be watching that?  Who do you think will win?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Yeah, we’ll probably watch the match, and it’s, Go Belgium.

THE MODERATOR:  Questions in French.

Q.  There was such a crazy atmosphere out there.  Are you used to that type of atmosphere?  Is it a problem for you, or is it helpful?  Do you feel supported?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Nothing.  It was a great atmosphere.  I’m not very used to that.  I don’t play in Belgium that often, but there were so many Belgian people in the crowd that I felt as if I was at home on this court.

There was an exceptional atmosphere as I never experienced.  Frankly, it gives me wings.  You can just play well in front of such a crowd.

Q.  Didn’t it make you lose your focus?

DAVID GOFFIN:  No.  When everything is fine you have the crowd supporting you, but when you have to go through a difficult moment and when you’re tired, they help you fight.  That’s great.

Q.  You reached the round of 16.  What’s in your mind?  Do you feel it’s incredible?

DAVID GOFFIN:  I can’t realize yet.  I’ve just won three matches in a row.  It’s the first time I’m in the main draw.  Now I’m going to play Roger.

I can’t realize.  It’s a very nice feeling.  I’m going to enjoy this victory of today.

Q.  Do you have an idea of who was the last lucky loser who went that far in the main draw here in Paris?

DAVID GOFFIN:  No, I don’t know who that was.  No idea.

Q.  Dick Norman for a Grand Slam tournament.

DAVID GOFFIN:  Oh, Dick.  So I guess the Belgians are used to doing that.

Let’s be honest, I was lucky through the qualifications, and now I managed to play my best tennis.

Q.  Just for us to have an idea, who is on your team or on your staff?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, I travel with Willems, my coach.  He’s a member of the Belgian Federation.  And I try and have my family around me here because we’re not far from home.

On Sunday, everyone is going to be here to support me.

Q.  Let’s talk about Roger.  What do you know about him?  Do you know what to expect on Sunday?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, I’ve been watching Roger playing on telly for so many years.  Roger has always been my favorite.  He has perfect tennis, perfect technique, and I like the man.  From a human standpoint, he is a great person, whether on the court or outside the court.

So I expect a very difficult match on Sunday.  I don’t know exactly how I should prepare for this match, but I’ll try and have fun.

Q.  Do you think you have a chance?

DAVID GOFFIN:  If I say yes I will sound arrogant; if I say no you’ll say I lack ambition.  We’ll see.  I’ll prepare this match as I prepare all my other matches.  I’ll try and loosen my shots and have fun on a great court.

Q.  Do you remember the first time you saw Roger in person?  Did you see the Primrose match for the Davis Cup?

DAVID GOFFIN:  No, I wasn’t there.  I can’t remember the day I first saw him in person, but I remember many of his matches.  I didn’t need to look at the match today to know how he plays.  I’ve watched him quite a few times.

Q.  Have you come across him here?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Yes, when he played at Lenglen Court, I saw him in the locker room.  He was preparing for his match.

Q.  David, the French crowd is going to discover you on a great court on Sunday.  How will you come and meet the French crowd?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, I’ll try and be myself.  I’ll try and be on the court and play my game, as I’ve always done since the beginning of this tournament.

I have nothing to lose, so I’ll give everything.

Q.  What I meant is can you tell us where you come from, how long you’ve played?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, I started playing tennis when I was six; I come from the city of Liège.  I’ve been playing on the tour for three years.  I have no experience with regards to that kind of match at such a high level and at this stage in a tournament.

Q.  David, how is your finger?  How is your knee?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, I fell on my finger and it was bleeding, so we had to stop that, otherwise, you know, when you give the towel to the ballboys you want to stop bleeding.  Everything is fine.  It was worth it.

Q.  And when you fell, did you feel he might turn the match around?

DAVID GOFFIN:  Well, you know, he had a few opportunities.  Sometimes he was leading, but I knew that these matches can be very long, so you don’t want to panic.

I played my tennis, and at the end I won the third.

