S. STOSUR/N. Petrova 6‑3, 6‑3

SAMANTHA STOSUR

Q.  You had some tough battles with her in the past.  Was it your plan with that in mind to come out and really stamp your authority early?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, I think it’s ‑‑ I mean, no matter who you’re playing, you want to try and get off to a good start.  But I think especially against someone like Nadia, if you can get a good start and try and get an early break, it’s really beneficial.

And of course I know we have had some pretty long matches in the past, and she had gotten the better of me a lot of times.  So I was really aware of that and really wanted to come out and try and get ahead on the scoreboard, and that’s thankfully what happened.

Q.  Is it any different playing her than playing someone like Sara Errani who is going to be out there all day and get a million balls back?  But Petrova has such explosive power.  Do you sort of prepare differently knowing that if she’s really on, it could be pretty hard to stay with her?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Oh, absolutely.  I think that is part of the danger, is that she’s a player capable of playing very aggressively.  And especially when her serve is working, then it’s pretty hard to break.  And, you know, you’re under pressure on your service games, if you slip up one time, that could be the set.

So, yeah, it’s a tough match because you’ve got to be aware of that, but you’ve still got to play your game, play aggressive.  But if you don’t have to take added risks, then you’ve also got to be aware of that, too, maybe adjust things as they come.

Q.  How nice is it to be in the second week of a slam?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, it’s a great feeling.  Yeah, a place where I wanted to try to get to, to this weekend, and, yeah, I’m very pleased with the three matches I have played.

I thought today was very, very solid and a good match.  Hopefully it’s going to set me up for the next one.  Yeah, we’ll see where things go.

Q.  Do you think you’re finding your groove as the matches go on?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, I’m very happy with the way things are going.  There are always things you want to try and improve.  But I think today, like I said, I was very solid, I knew what I wanted to do, I stuck to the plan and was able to stick to the plan and was able to execute it very well.

Yeah, really couldn’t ask for too much more.

Q.  What about the conditions?  David often says you like it fast and hot, and when it’s dull and heavy, it doesn’t quite suit you.  Is that another pleasing aspect about your win today?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, the sun wasn’t out as much.  It was definitely quite humid today.  A little bit different.  I think, yeah, when the conditions aren’t exactly the way you want, I think it’s great when I can get through and win a match like that, when things aren’t perfect.

Having said that, I still think it wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t raining and really heavy.  So I was still able to get the ball jumping and then off the court and get rewarded for doing those things well.

Q.  The way you played and won this match today, is that the best you’ve played against her?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, probably.  I think it’s, yeah, one of those matches where, again, I set out to play a certain way and know what I had to do.  I think we’ve played each other enough times now to know what’s going to happen.

But it’s ‑‑ yeah, to win 3 and 3 in a slam is good.  One of the other times I beat her was in Eastbourne, and it was pretty quick straight sets as well.  Most of them have been long, tight battles.  So to come back from the last two matches we played to then win today like this is very pleasing.

Q.  You’ve got Sloane Stephens next.  What do you know about her?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Oh, I know that she’s a young American coming up and got a good game.  She had a pretty decent US Open, I think.  Come through pretty well so far this week.  Yeah, never played against her, never hit against her.

So I guess Dave’s got a bit of homework to do, and we’ll talk about it tomorrow.  Again, she’s a player she probably doesn’t have much to lose and I think it’s probably a first fourth round here, so gotta be ready for someone to come out playing well.

Q.  What was the kerfuffle before the match about?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I think the patch she had on her shirt was in the wrong place or something.

Q.  Clearly didn’t unsettle you at all?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  No.  I was hoping we’d be able to start.  You don’t want to have a warmup and sit there for 10 minutes waiting, especially when you’re coming out to serve first.  I was ready to go, but, yeah, it didn’t end up bothering me too bad.

Q.  Anybody that plays tennis knows that there are ups and downs, you don’t always play the same, but in your own head, how do you sort out the way you played in Melbourne this year and maybe the way you’re playing now?  Do you sort it out some way, explain it or reconcile it?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, I think the thing is it’s probably not really too much about the tennis.  I think if you just made it about hitting the ball, these are the lines and you play, then we’d all be perfect every single day, and you’d have lots of people playing great.

But, unfortunately, you know, other things come into it and there’s the whole outside stuff, and then whatever you’re thinking in your own head.

Yeah, different pressures come down on people, you know, a lot harder in some moments than others.  I think it’s just one of those things.  Of course, you know, I didn’t play very well throughout January, and the Australian Open was quite a disaster.  But then once I left, I kind of forgot about it and realized that the world didn’t end, it’s not the end of the world, there’s still nine months of tennis to play for the year and things can turn around.

So I think if you really keep it in the big picture like that, you can turn things around.

Q.  You’ve been posting on Facebook how you have been out in Paris.  What do you like about your Facebook activity and why are you not on Twitter and what do you think?  And last part of the question, that your biceps is on Twitter?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  My biceps are?

Q.  Yeah, Sam Stosur’s biceps is on Twitter, twittering, pretending to be your biceps.

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I didn’t know that.  That’s a little bit disturbing, I think.  I don’t know.  I like the Facebook aspect better, and I think it’s easy to use.  I don’t use Twitter, I don’t have an account, I don’t follow anyone.  Yeah, so far I’m not too bothered about it.

Yeah, I like to ‑‑ people want to know what you’re doing away from tennis.  Everyone can read the newspaper and go online and see tennis results and tennis photos, but when you see other things, I think it’s a little more interesting.

And hopefully they like getting on there and seeing what I’m doing.

Q.  With Serena out, do you feel that an already open women’s draw has gotten more wide open?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, possibly.  I think for sure she was, yeah, one of the favorites to probably go through and maybe win the tournament.  Again, you can’t pin anyone into that spot until the last day.

So, again, I think it shows that everyone’s capable of playing very well given their day.  You know, everyone’s gotta be ready.  It’s definitely still open.  There are a handful of players playing very well and want to try to get through as far as they can and hopefully hold the trophy.

Q.  How unfamous are you in Paris compared to, say, Melbourne?  An element walking around where you feel a lot more free than you would at home?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, for sure I don’t get recognized as much as what I do at home, but, yeah, you still feel it sometimes when you’re walking around a busy corner or something and there are a few eyes watching you and you kind of keep on your way.

But, yeah, I guess it’s nice just to be able to blend in and be as normal as possible.  And, yeah, it’s a little more difficult in Australia.  But, again, that comes with the territory.  It’s fine there, and I’ll handle it fine here, as well.  Whatever comes, it’s always different in whatever city you are.

