P. MARTIC/A. Medina Garrigues 6‑2, 6‑1

 

PETRA MARTIC

 

 

Q.  I guess you’re happy about the victory.  It’s the first time going that far in a Grand Slam.

PETRA MARTIC:  Yeah, that’s true.  I’m living my dream this week.  I mean, this is why I started playing tennis.  This is what kept me motivated when I didn’t play well, when nothing went my way.

So this is what’s happening right now, and that’s the most important thing.  I’m really enjoying it.  It’s amazing.  No words can describe this.

 

Q.  Do you consider this year to be your breakthrough season?  What’s different this year compared to the previous seasons?

PETRA MARTIC:  Well, I think the most important thing is that I’m a more mature player this year.  That’s the reason why I play more consistent than I did the years before.

So I definitely believe this could be my breakthrough year.

 

Q.  Is there maybe a moment, a tournament, or an event that you could remember that led you to that breakthrough?

PETRA MARTIC:  I think I became better player in Malaysia this year.  That’s where I made my first WTA final.  That’s where I started to play aggressive tennis, started to believe more to myself.

That’s the key to success.

