V. AZARENKA/A. Wozniak 6‑4, 6‑4

VICTORIA AZARENKA

Q.  What was a good point for you tonight?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Well, I think I played pretty well.  You know, I was going for my shots, I was serving good, and mix up sometimes.

Overall it was much better today.  I don’t know.  I think I had more opportunities.  But she played really well in those tough moments.  I think I could have stepped it up a little bit more.

You know, my game is better and better with every match, so that’s what I’m happy about.

Q.  How did you feel physically?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Physically I feel pretty good.  It was a long way today, and I’m really glad I managed to finish today because it was already pretty dark in last two games.

So it was important to finish so tomorrow I can rest and prepare for my next match.

Q.  How close do you think you came to not playing today?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Well, I don’t know, because ‑‑ well, I obviously saw that my court is going to be the longest one, that’s for sure.  Then I thought Roger was going to be, you know, a little bit quicker playing.

But, you know, they played a longer match so they wanted to move us to Court 2; then didn’t decide; then wanted to move to Chatrier.

So it was a little bit of a hustle, and you don’t know when I to prepare.  I’m waiting for my Suzanne Lenglen which is on the third match, and then there is another match, so maybe be ready in half an hour.

So it was difficult.  I managed to play, so that’s important.

Q.  You played her I think quite a few times a long time ago.  What did it feel like to play her after five or six years?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Well, I mean, she plays really well.  You know, sometimes she can just go for her shots and she has a really good timing which you can feel in her ball striking.  It’s pretty loose.

Of course I was a different player than five, six years ago and I was more stable in the tough moments, when I knew before she could make me be more in trouble.

Q.  I guess it was a long day here.  Can you describe how you feel and what about the match?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Yeah, it was a long day.  You know, before that I played at 11:00, and today I almost played at 11:00 at night.  It’s quite a change of schedule for me.  But you have to adapt to it.  I was not actually sure if I was gonna play tonight.

Also, they moved our court.  I’m really glad that I managed to play and win today.  That’s even better.

Q.  What about your game?  Do you think it was as good as you wanted?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Well, it’s never as good as I want really.  Can always be better.  Definitely better than my first match, and I played better than in my second match.  I had tougher opponent.

So that’s important, you know, to kind of improve and raise little by little your level.  So I’m through to the fourth round, and up from there I want to still keep doing the same thing.

Q.  When you saw yesterday that you were on Lenglen and No. 5 to play…

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  Yesterday I just saw I was No. 4, and very, very late I was surprised I was going to be No. 5.

But as I said, I played always at 11:00.  It was a little bit different, but I was actually really excited.  Because on that court, you know, the late matches, the atmosphere can get really amazing sometimes.

So I was kind of looking forward to it.

Q.  Can you play as well on clay as you played on hardcourts, like you played in Australia?  Do you think this surface will Always stop you from playing quite as well as you would on hardcourts?

VICTORIA AZARENKA:  No, you know, I like to play on clay.  Definitely a little bit different, but the game on clay becomes more and more similar as on hardcourt.

So I definitely improved my movement, which is a big key to have on clay court.  So, you know, I’m ready to do whatever I can here.

