MIRNYI‑NESTOR/Bryan‑Bryan 6‑4, 6‑4

 

DANIEL NESTOR MAX MIRNYI

 

Q.  What’s your daughter’s name?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Tiana, with a T.

Q.  How old is she?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Three.

Q.  Does she tweet?

DANIEL NESTOR:  No:  I don’t tweet.

Q.  You know, the Bryans’ daughter is tweeting.

DANIEL NESTOR:  I know, she has like 5,000 followers.

Q.  Don’t you feel kinda left behind?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Not really.  I’m not a tweeter.  Max is a Facebook guy.

Q.  Four titles for you out of like six editions.  You have to be fairly pleased.  How do you feel about the whole situation?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Unbelievable.  It’s a great feeling.  I don’t know.  Might have been, you know, not the best match by some of us on the court today, including myself and definitely them, but Max was, you know, very solid from start to finish.  He played great.  He carried us.  You know, that was important today.

You know, regardless of the fact ‑‑ you know, a slam is a slam and beat the best team probably of all time in the finals is a good feeling.

Q.  You guys, the team that you have lost to this season have not been exactly half bad teams.  You lost to the best teams around.  What was the difference in this tournament compared to some of the other ones?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Just maybe better mental approach.  I think some of the losses we had in the clay season, we were in a position to win.  You know, especially me, I think one of the matches in Madrid where we could have, you know, won the tournament if we ‑‑ we should have won the match in the semifinals to the team that won the tournament.

Kind of got a little bit tight and hit safe in the big moments.  I think we made a commitment to really bear down in the big moments and play aggressive, and, you know, stick to our game plan and really be mentally tough.

I think, you know, from the beginning of a tournament, you know, I mean, we had a tough first round, second round.  We really went after these guys.  You know, we didn’t hold back.  I think if we play like that, you know, we’re a tough team to beat.

Q.  I talked with Max about players who are close to their 40s and have a long career.  What can you say about your career and near 40s?  What’s the secret to play 40s?  What’s the main goal to keep doing and doing?

DANIEL NESTOR:  I feel fortunate, because I think when I played singles and when I was younger I had a few injuries, especially with my arm, my left arm.

You know, the last few years, for whatever reason, I have been pretty much pain‑free, so I can serve as hard as I can and hit the ball as hard as I can.  That makes a big difference.  There were a lot of times early in my career where I would be in a lot of pain and I couldn’t play the way I wanted to.

A lot of that had to do with singles being definitely more stressful than doubles.  Again, it’s doubles.  It’s half the court, you know.  It’s not physically that demanding.  I think it’s possible for people in their 40s to keep playing.

You know, you look at other sports, hockey, basketball, other guys are older keep playing, and probably people who are lucky enough to stay healthier are the ones that continue.

Q.  Do I get the impression you’re both not as excited about winning this because the level of the match wasn’t as good as you’d have liked it?

MAX MIRNYI:  Well, perhaps it’s our personality’s maybe not as expressive as some.  Trust me, this is what makes our day at the end of it all.

We just probably have too much respect for the opposition today.  You know, we’ve played them.  We’ve beaten them many times.  We’ve lost to them probably more times than beat them.

Just the mutual respect of we were happy we won.  You don’t want to sort of rub it in because maybe they didn’t play their best today.

Q.  Is that what you’re thinking, maybe they didn’t play their best?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Well, for sure.  They wouldn’t their normal self.  We were a little bit fortunate for that.  Max said it perfectly.  We have a lot of respect for them.  I think if they’re not “the” best of all time, they’re tied for the best of all time.

You don’t want to take your clothes off and start dancing around the court when you win.

Q.  Might be a new trend.  You never know.

DANIEL NESTOR:  It’s been done before.

Q.  You’re going to turn 40 in a few months.  What keeps you going?  What’s the motivation?  Where does it come from?

DANIEL NESTOR:  Moments like this.  I love competing.  I love playing in the big tournaments and challenging myself to play against the best.  You know, I really, you know, enjoy, you know, playing the Grand Slams especially, and trying to play my best in those tournaments, and, you know, maybe make up for some things I didn’t do as well when I was younger and playing the big moments as well and now I feel like I’m doing a little bit better.  Keep continuing.

Q.  Federer has mentioned he didn’t rule out competing until the Rio Olympics.  What about you?

DANIEL NESTOR:  That’s a little bit of a stretch.

Q.  How much of a stretch?

DANIEL NESTOR:  A big stretch.

Q.  One last question about that other thing:  Did you hear the public address announcer?  Did you hear him announce your exact age during the ceremony?

DANIEL NESTOR:  I’m not 40.  I’m 39.

Q.  39 and 8 months.

DANIEL NESTOR:  Very nice.

Q.  Second thing I wanted to ask is what do you think it would take you guys doing on the tennis court for Daniel to jump in your arms with glee and be beyond the moon excited?  What would it take?

MAX MIRNYI:  I wish some of you would have a chance to come out and see some of our practice sessions.  It doesn’t take much.  For him to win the little game, we play he’s very competitive, and, you know, he celebrates like ‑‑ I wish he would celebrate today winning a Grand Slam.  But like I said, today was a different circumstance.

DANIEL NESTOR:  You didn’t celebrate like that.

MAX MIRNYI:  I don’t think we’ll ever see that on the tennis court, because, you know, he’s built a reputation around himself over the years that he’s very preserved and very to himself person.

But if you want to see his other personality you have to come out on the practice court.

DANIEL NESTOR:  Especially when we’re playing the Polish team.

