R. NADAL/D. Ferrer 6‑2, 6‑2, 6‑1

 

DAVID FERRER

 

Q.  In Barcelona it was a very close match; in Rome it was a very close first set, I remember.  This time it was not really close.  What makes the difference?

DAVID FERRER:  He plays better than me all the time.  Didn’t play too many errors in some moments.  Nothing special.

It’s difficult to say something, no?  He was better, and he had a very good match.

Q.  Again, just talk about what you tried to do against him and what was not working.  I mean, what was he doing that was stopping you from making more progress in the match?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, I tried to do my best, but when the opponent was better than me in the moment, I don’t have to say nothing, no?

He played all the time very good; I didn’t have any chance.

 

Q.  You’ve played him many, many times.  How good was Rafa today?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know.  Very good.  Rafael is very good player in clay court.  He’s the best of the history, and today he did amazing match.

 

Q.  Was that the best he’s played against you, do you think, on clay?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know.  Maybe.  I don’t know.  I don’t remember the matches now.

 

Q.  There was one great point during the match, a long rally with more than 30 strokes.  Nadal fell on his back, and he still managed to return the ball.  What did you think at that moment?  How did you feel after that point?

DAVID FERRER:  Nothing.  Good point for him.  (Smiling.)

Nothing special.

 

Q.  We don’t know who he’s going to play in the final, but how do you like whoever wins chances against the way Rafa is playing right now?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know.  I think Roger and Novak Djokovic, they are very good players.  I think they are very, very close.

For me, the favorite is Rafael, but we never know, no?  We are talking about the three players, and they are amazing players.

 

Q.  Your first semifinal, what do you take for your game out of this tournament?

DAVID FERRER:  I’m very happy with my game all tournament.  Maybe today was not the best match of these two weeks, but it’s my first semifinal.  It was my first semifinal in Roland Garros.

I am fourth in the race, and this is good point.

 

Q.  How difficult were the conditions today?  It was very windy, changing all the time.

DAVID FERRER:  Yeah, we know that in Roland Garros always is very windy; always the weather is changing.  Is not excuse.

Is difficult sometimes, but I am playing ten years, I think, Roland Garros, and I know.

 

Q.  You have had a great career; you’ve beaten all the top players; you’ve been in the semifinals of Grand Slams.  Is it frustrating you haven’t been able to get to the final of a Grand Slam?  You haven’t been able to get past these top guys?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know.  I don’t know.  Now I make my first semifinal here, and I’m very happy.  For to win a final, I will have to play very good, very consistent, very regular, and is very difficult for do this one.

Now I am 6th in the world; I am top 10; I am in my first semifinal Roland Garros.  This is a good point, is positive point.

THE MODERATOR:  Spanish questions.

 

Q.  Congratulations for this match and for the tournament.  Could you perhaps try and describe this match for us in a nutshell?  Would you say that there was a moment when there was a real turn around during the match?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, during this match I was not aggressive enough.  I didn’t have enough feelings to play and Rafa had the upper hand.  He was always there when it was needed.  He managed to put pressure on me when he had to, so he was better than I was.

 

Q.  During the fourth game you had a break point, but he won it.  It was very important.  Seen from outside, I had the impression that this is when the match turned around.  What did you think about this?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, this game didn’t really change the match itself.  Frankly, you know, it all started quite normally, both for him and for me.  Both of us were playing more or less the same type of tennis, but then he started to become more and more aggressive.  There was nothing I could do to fight back against this.

 

Q.  Okay, you were defeated.  Is it painful to lose this way than fighting a tight match?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, yes, of course it’s better if the scores are more or less the same because there is one who wins, the other one who loses.  But it’s different.

I’m a bit sad, that’s true, because I didn’t really play well today.  But, you know, we played two hours, in any case.

 

Q.  After you stopped due to the rain, would you say that after this, when you were on the courts again, the match was as difficult as before and that you played your best tennis?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, you know, when I walked onto the courts again, I thought, this is like a new match.  I had to be more aggressive.

But Rafa was more at ease.  He was calmer than I was.  He knew he was taking better control of the match than I was, and there’s not much I could have done.

