S. ERRANI/S. Stosur 7‑5, 1‑6, 6‑3

 

SAMANTHA STOSUR

 

Q.  Back at 3‑All in the third, there’s obviously nothing in it from there.  What do you put those last kind of stages down to?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  No, it’s kind of hard to say at the moment.  I think I need to kinda probably look back on the match a bit more before I can give it a true reflection of what I think.

But, yeah, it was hard.  I think she kinda played some good points.  Then I got a little bit on the back foot again, which kinda got me in that hole at 3‑Love in the third in the beginning, and I couldn’t afford to do that.  Unfortunately I let it happen again, and, yeah, I paid the ultimate price.

Q.  Is it fair to say you didn’t handle the change of conditions today as well as you probably would have liked?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I don’t know.  I don’t know if it was the conditions or whatever it was.  I think, you know, I came out 2‑Love; that was a good start.

Then I kind of probably wasn’t playing the way that I needed to be throughout that first set from that point on.

And then obviously really turned it around in that second.  Then it was too up and down; it wasn’t continuous enough.

Like I said, then I didn’t do it at the times when it really obviously mattered.  Yeah, went down 3 in the third.

 

Q.  Were you any more nervous, tight, worried, going into this match?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Um, I mean, I think you’re always going to be a bit nervous going into a semi.  It’s a semifinal of a slam.  Of course you’re going to be nervous.

I don’t know if that, you know, beforehand affected me throughout the match.  I just didn’t do enough, really.  Just sucks that it happened here today.

You know, you do it somewhere else you don’t maybe worry about it so much, but here it obviously hurts a lot more.

 

Q.  I’m sure you don’t feel you played your best, but could you tell it was her first Grand Slam semifinal the way she was playing a lot of the match?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  No, I thought she, you know, played quite well.  Yeah, you probably wouldn’t have thought that.  But, again, yeah, I think I should have done.  You know, I’m capable of doing more, and I didn’t for whatever reason.

 

Q.  Is it a good thing that you have a major coming up in a couple weeks?  You can look forward to something?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Well, I mean, I hope I can look forward to Wimbledon.  That’s always been a very tough tournament for me, but I guess in some ways that’s the beauty of tennis.

You can have, you know, a really crap day and then there’s another tournament the next week and you get a chance to kinda redeem yourself very quickly.

So I guess that’s the way you’ve got to look at it.  If you are going to bounce back quickly from a disappointing loss, you’ve got to look at it with some sort of positiveness.  And, yeah, there’s a Grand Slam in another couple of weeks, and that’s where you want to try and improve what went wrong today.

 

Q.  There’s going to be obvious comparisons with your lost here two years ago ‑ maybe just because it’s an Italian.  Can you compare the losses just in terms of the disappointments?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Oh, I’d have to say I was much more disappointed losing the final than what I was today.  Yeah, obviously today hurts a lot, as well.  It’s hard to, you know, know what you’re going to think.  It’s only an hour since the match finished.  I’m sure tonight is not going to be very fun and exciting, that’s for sure.

There are things that you can take away from both matches that are maybe similar.  But, again, you’ve got to learn from those matches.

 

Q.  I was wondering how you saw the final.  Don’t know who’s going to be playing Sara, but both of them, they’re quite sort of flat power players from the back of the court.  How do you think her style will go against whoever goes through?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I guess time will tell.  I don’t know if I’m going to watch the final, to be honest.  I could really care less what happens at this point.

Yeah, it will be interesting.  Again, she’s the player not expected to win no matter who she ends up playing.  Both Maria and Petra are very, very good players, hit the ball a flatter.  We’ll see what she can do against that different game style.

 

Q.  Errani is now a top 10 player.  She’s getting some credits probably and more trust on her serve and so on.  When you see the two matches that you lost to Schiavone and Errani, do you see any similarity?  Against Schiavone, you told me the other day that you weren’t aggressive enough probably.

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Uh‑huh.

 

Q.  Today what was the difference?  What did you miss more?  You think in either your mind you were thinking you were favorite or what?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I don’t know.  Again, it’s hard to answer something like that so soon after.  But, yeah, I think today I definitely had enough opportunities in rallies and probably set up the point enough times to win more than what I did.

You know, there were certainly times when I felt like I had the shot, and she picked it or I didn’t notice that she was going there.  You can’t do that so many times as I did today.

You know, I needed to do more.

 

Q.  How do you get over a loss like this?  Do you just do nothing for a couple of days, or is it like getting back on a bike, you get straight back out there and start hitting again?  Do you need some time?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I’ll probably take a couple of days off.  I think you’ve got to go through whatever emotions you want to go through and let it all sink in.

And, yeah, I mean, if I wake up tomorrow and feel like going for a hit I’ll go for a hit, but chances are I won’t.

Yeah, I think you have to look ‑‑ again, like I said before, look at it with as positive an outcome as you can and realize, Okay, there’s always another day; there’s another tournament; there’s another very big tournament in a couple of weeks.

That’s what you’ve got to look to to keep improving.  Yeah, it’s not going to be easy, but I think that’s the only choice you’ve got.

 

Q.  As you were getting ready for this match, in spite of the fact that she has beaten some very good players on her way to your match, did you find Errani a much tougher player than what you expected, or did you expect such a tough resistance?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  No, I was always expecting a tough match.  You know, whatever rankings, whatever ‑‑ people obviously probably put me down as the favorite, but I wasn’t going in there lighthearted or anything like that.

I know that she competes very hard.  We have had a couple of tight matches in the past, so I certainly wasn’t going to go into this one, you know, not thinking it was going to be hard and, you know, have that aspect of whatever I thought or my game breakdown.

So I was expecting her to fight very hard and play, you know, a very good match.

 

Q.  How much of it do you think the challenge is trying to manage the expectations that you have for yourself really?  Seems like when you’re in Australia where you want to do so well you have trouble with that; I know here it’s a great surface for you and you’ve have great results.  Must be similar expectations, right?  What’s that challenge like, and is that what’s holding you back, do you think?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Well, it’s hard to say.  Yeah, today is disappointing and whatever else.  But, you know, have I not reached my potential because of that?  I don’t know.

I still won a Grand Slam, so there are still good things.  I have obviously been capable of it at some point, as well.  But I think for me I know I can improve; I know I can get better at certain things.

My own expectation probably does far exceed anyone else’s.  I think I am capable of doing more, and that’s probably why it is so disappointing when you don’t do it.  You keep working hard every day to achieve something, and when you have a day where you feel like you’ve kind of let yourself down, it’s obviously very disappointing.

Again, that’s what drives you to come back next week and the next week after to keep doing that.

 

Q.  You’ve spoken a lot this past sort of two weeks about feeling more comfortable at a slam, being a bit more confident with your position in the top 10, that sort of thing.  Does this set you back at all, or do you think you can come up with this strategy to overcome it and get back to where you were feeling at the start of this tournament?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Yeah, I don’t think it’s going to necessarily set me back.  I think it could have only got better from today onwards.  But, you know, I think I’ve had disappointing losses before.  I have been through similar situations and been able to come back.

I have no doubt I’ll be able to do that.  Obviously you just don’t want to go through it at all.  So I think, like I said before, the only choice is to think about what’s around the corner and how am I going to improve and remember what this feels like.

You don’t want to have it happen again, or at least not for a very long time.

 

Q.  Two semis and a final.  Are you going to insist and try to win this Grand Slam in clay?  Because your game suits every place.

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Of course I’m going to do it.  I’m going to come back next year and the year after and the year after.  Hopefully one day I can win this tournament.  I think it is obviously a great event for me and it suits me and all that.  You know, I’ve come close, but hopefully one day it will happen.

 

Q.  There wasn’t anything particularly that Errani did that you think it was really well done?  I mean, somebody says that she played with a lot of brain.  I mean, do you feel that she plays tactically very cleverly when you are on the other side of the net, or is just normal more or less like everybody else?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Well, today maybe she did a little bit different than other matches.  It’s hard, because, you know, we had had some close matches, but I hadn’t necessarily struggled against her too much before today. So obviously something changed, whether it’s her, me, whatever.

You know, there’s certainly, you know, parts of her game that are very good, and that’s why she’s now in the final here and having the best year of her career so far.  She can play very well, and she uses what she’s got.  She gets the most out of herself,  I guess.  Without being able to hit too many winners, she does what she does very well.

 

Q.  Just to follow up, some people say that Hingis who was short and didn’t have much power, didn’t have a great serve, not a great second serve, but she was able to mixup a lot, change pace, to change angles and corners; do you see any similarity on that?  Everyone says Hingis was very, very clever on court.  I don’t know if you agree or not.

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  Well, of course she was.  I don’t know if you can compare Errani and Hingis, but, you know, obviously she has to use the mental side and think tactically and all that, because, yeah, she doesn’t have that big shot.

You know, whatever her serve doesn’t give her, she obviously makes up then for the groundstrokes and knows where to move and negates a point like that and then gets back on top of the point.

Yeah, I think of course she is a smart player.  Like I said, what she does do, she does very well.

 

Q.  You talked about the fact you won the US Open and everything.  I’m just wondering whether having won that Grand Slam title you’re now back at the business end of the tournament here and then suffered that loss.  I appreciate it’s early still, but are you thinking about it, are you evaluating it any differently now from the fact you’ve won a Grand Slam title to the other losses at the back end of slams before when you hadn’t won a Grand Slam?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  I don’t know.  I don’t think so.  I think you need to evaluate a loss for exactly what happened on the court and what went wrong.  And, you know, of course it hurts more because it’s deeper in a tournament, in a very important tournament.

But at the end of the day it’s the match, and you’ve got to work on what happened out on the court, and, you know, not hopefully allow it to happen again.

So I think it’s just more disappointing because it’s here at Roland Garros, not, you know, somewhere else.

But, you know, hopefully I can get back to the same position again and always use this experience, the US Open experience and all that, to hopefully be a winner of a big tournament like this again.

 

Q.  There has been a lot of pretty amazing praise for your game the last few days.  Jim Courier was saying that you’re the one woman who can play like Rafa and all that kind of stuff.  To be singled out for that, have you caught wind of that the last few days, what people have been saying?  Has that been unsettling at all?

SAMANTHA STOSUR:  No, actually I didn’t know about that comment, for instance.  But, yeah, I guess you hear a few people saying that, you know, maybe some of the past male players like to watch me play or whatever else just because I play a bit different and maybe they can relate to it a bit more with, you know, bigger forehand rather than a backhand and good serve and whatnot.

But, you know, I think that’s all nice compliments to have, so it didn’t bother me, that’s for sure.  Makes you feel good when people like watching you play.

