M. SHARAPOVA/K. Kanepi 6‑2, 6‑3

 

KAIA KANEPI

 

 

Q.  Just your impressions of the match?  Seemed like she was hitting a lot of lines and really attacking your serve.

KAIA KANEPI:  Yeah, I think she played very well.  Yeah, she was attacking all the time, and I didn’t have much time to do my shots.  She played very well.

Q.  On your own serve did you feel like you didn’t serve well or she was just returning very well?  I think you got broken seven times.

KAIA KANEPI:  Yeah, she puts the pressure on when she returns.  It’s not very comfortable to serve because you know you have to serve well.

 

Q.  So just talk about how did you feel out there?  Were you in a rhythm?  Did you find the conditions difficult?

KAIA KANEPI:  No, I think conditions were okay.  I was just very nervous in the beginning, and it got some time to get used to it.

Well, it was tough to get any rhythm today because balls were flying so hard from her side.  It’s unfortunate that I didn’t stay that long on the court; I enjoyed being there.

 

Q.  I know you’re disappointed, but do you think she’s playing at a level to win this tournament?  We don’t think of Sharapova as being a great clay‑court player, but it seems like she’s moving better and being aggressive.  What are your thoughts?

KAIA KANEPI:  Well, I think she can win the tournament.  I think, yeah, any who will be in the semis have a chance, but I think she’s in very good form right now.

