S. ERRANI/A. Kerber 6‑3, 7‑6

 

ANGELIQUE KERBER

 

Q.  How can you explain what happened?  I mean, do you think that she was leading more the game than you, or not?  Why in the first set there was only practically no breaks to her and in the second set everything changed?  I mean, there were eight breaks out of ten, I think.

ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, this I don’t know.  But it was a tough match.  She was playing from the first point very well.  I mean, I was trying to find my game and try, yeah, to fight back.

In the second set I think I played better than in the first set, but she played better in the important points and was more aggressive than me.

Q.  Did you expect her to play so well, or after you had beaten her so easily in Hobart?  Do you think she has changed a lot?  I mean, the way she plays now she’s more confident?  What is her strength?

ANGELIQUE KERBER:  Yeah, for sure she plays very well on clay, I mean, that surface to play.

And I think she show also in the first week that she beat great players.  I know before the match that it will be a tough one, and I know that I need to play on a high level to beat her.

But she moves very well, and make, I don’t know how many mistakes.  I think just ten or something.  I think that was the point.

 

Q.  Is there something you regret particularly, something you reproach to yourself that you should have done better?  What are tactically some thing that you don’t like with about the way you played the match today?

ANGELIQUE KERBER:  I think I was a little bit too defensive in the point.  Yeah.

