D. FERRER/M. Granollers 6‑3, 6‑2, 6‑0

 

DAVID FERRER

 

 

Q.  Another very good match for you today.  Do you feel like you’re playing your best tennis at the moment?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know if my best tennis.  Is difficult to say that.

But of course I am in a good moment.  I am playing very good this tournament.  Also the season.  I’m very happy for that.

Q.  You might play Andy Murray next.  You’ve beaten him three times on clay; never lost to him.  If you did play him, you would feel confident going into that match?

DAVID FERRER:  No.  For me, every match is different.  I feel it’s different, and I know for to beat Andy I need to play my best tennis.

And also, Richard Gasquet, they have to play.  But both players, they are very, very good in clay court and all surface.

 

Q.  You have been having a very good season so far, and a few years ago again you were having a really good season.  You got very high up in the rankings, and then your results fell a bit.  Sometimes players don’t manage to come back from the drop.  How have you managed to come back and get your results back up?

DAVID FERRER:  (Through translation.)  I try do my best in every match.  I work hard for to come back to top 10, and every year is different.  Sometimes one year the player is playing or is doing really good season, and the next year it’s more bad.

But is normal.  This is tennis, and the tennis is very different, no?

 

Q.  Can you just talk mentally about some of the things you work on?

DAVID FERRER:  I try to improve my mental.  Of course I improve my mental in my game.  Every year I try to improve my personality, and of course my game of tennis.

 

Q.  Can you compare your confidence level on clay to other surfaces?

DAVID FERRER:  My best results were in hard courts.  Of course I like playing in clay court.  Is maybe my surface favorite and very comfortable in this court.  But I don’t have any problem for we play more in the faster courts.

THE MODERATOR:  Questions in Spanish.

 

Q.  So far you have lost 26 games in the tournament.  It’s your best Roland Garros, and you’ve reached the quarterfinals.  How come?  What are the reasons why your results so good?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, you know, I don’t know there’s just one reason.  It’s a series of reasons why I have reached quarterfinals, why this year is my best performance at Roland Garros.

It’s true that in the past three or four ‑ well, four matches ‑ I felt really comfortable.  I felt really at ease.  I think I have to continue this way.

Next match I will be playing will probably be a difficult match to play, but I’ll have to continue and be positive.  I should try and reach semifinals.  I’ve never managed to go beyond the level of quarterfinals.

I managed at the US Open but never on clay, so I will have to continue and make even more effort.

 

Q.  Would you say that there’s something that’s changed in you or something that you have changed?  You were saying that clay is probably your preferred surface, even though here it is a bit difficult.  Would you say that there was a change in 2012?  Are you calmer or more serene in what’s happened to you?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, you know, maybe I’ve changed a little.  In 2012, in any case, I felt really good.  I have to continue on this same path.  That is, I have to remain calm and serene at present.  In doing that, I’ll better manage my stress.

And also, I think I’ll manage more things if I remain calm.  This has helped me considerably.  I can play at ease now at Roland Garros.

Okay.  Reaching the semis is not that easy, because, you know, it’s not just up to me.  Maybe I will need a little luck, as well.

 

Q.  What have you done with the camera?

DAVID FERRER:  What I wrote was “happy birthday.”  It’s my fiancée’s birthday, my girlfriend.

 

Q.  Like Rafa?

DAVID FERRER:  No, Rafa was yesterday.  You know, I like Rafa very much, but not that much.  (Laughter.)

 

Q.  I wanted to ask you another question.  At your age, each time you reach quarterfinals would you feel that there’s more pressure on you, that you can feel the pressure?  Wouldn’t you say that you have to make the most out of this momentum that you’ve gained like it’s now or never?

DAVID FERRER:  No, I try never to think about this, not this way.  You know, tennis has given me many opportunities.  I have never thought that I could play Davis Cup.  I don’t think I could play Masters in 2007; yet I’ve done that.

You know, I don’t want to think about this.  What counts for me is to work, to work hard and not to put too much pressure on myself.  I’ll do things step by step.

 

Q.  In the Anglo‑Saxon world, people call you “little beast.”  Can I write this?

DAVID FERRER:  Yes, you can write little beast if you want to, but my name is David Ferrer.  Journalist can say write this if they want.  You can write this if you want.

 

Q.  No, this is a nickname that I like, little beast.

DAVID FERRER:  Okay.  Up to you.  Little beast.  I don’t care.

 

Q.  You’ve said you’d like to reach the semis.

DAVID FERRER:  Well, yes.  So far I’ve reached the quarterfinals.  I’ve never done better than this here.  I’d like to, but this is a quantum leap forward, you know.

For the time being I’d like to feel comfortable.  I’d like to take a rest for a while.  I’d like to discuss with my coach, and I’d like to see what we’re going to do if I have to play either Gasquet or Murray.

 

Q.  You’ve talked a lot about pressure and how we can manage stress.  Would you say that there’s perhaps more pressure on you than on any other players at Roland Garros?  And I have another question to ask:  Would you say or would you believe that Gasquet could have the same type of problem?  That is, he doesn’t really like playing against you?  You don’t really like playing against him?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, there’s pressure on all the players, you know, and the higher you go, the better ranked you are, the more pressure there is on you, because you have to win more and more matches.

When you reach the quarterfinals like Richard Gasquet or Murray, perhaps the pressure on their shoulders will be similar to mine.  It’s the same for Murray, as well.

As I said before, each match is different.  The fact that people might play at home, well, for Gasquet, this might help him.  There is a whole series of things.

 

Q.  (Off microphone.)

DAVID FERRER:  Yes.  Murray ‑‑ well, what can I say about Murray?  Well, Murray is a player who has a high level of tennis.  It’s been the case for a number of years.

I think he could have been No. 1, because, you know, he analyzes matches really well.  He reads the opponent’s game very well.

He’s a player whose first serve is outstanding.  According to me, he returns better than he plays forehands.  Yet he’s very gift and had talented.  He moves to the net.  His volley balls are really excellent.  Both players are very tough players to play against.

