D. FERRER/M. Granollers 6‑3, 6‑2, 6‑0

MARCEL GRANOLLERS

Q.  What would you say David does that the other opponents don’t do and the reason why those who are against David play badly?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, you know, David is a solid player.  He doesn’t make many mistakes.  His returns are really good.  He’s got all the shots, in fact.

This match, for me, was very difficult during the first set.  I think I played well.  It was really a good set, the first one, so I played well.

And then afterwards, if you look at my percentage of first serves, it went down a little.  You know, usually even when you serve very well against David it’s really difficult because he returns so well.

My first serves were going down.  I mean, my percentage was going down, and that’s the reason why it’s more complex afterwards.

Q.  If I’m not wrong, you played against Nadal in Rome and here against David.  These are the No. 1 and No. 2 in the world in clay, I think.  What would you say about the fact that Rafa has won many matches here on clay?  What’s the difference between Rafa and David?  What are the things that Rafa has that David hasn’t got?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, I think that Rafa plays a bit better than everybody, you see.  His level is extremely high.  During the whole match he can keep the same level; whereas David doesn’t do many mistakes.

Well, Rafa makes even fewer mistakes.  You know, the thing is is that Rafa adapts a lot to the opponent and his forehand really hurts, just like David.

Q.  Even though you were defeated today, I suppose you’re going to leave with a lot of interesting feelings, encouraged for the future?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, yes, of course.  Of course.  I’m really happy to have reached the round of 16.  I’ve played three matches that were really tight, really difficult.

David today played better, played better than me, yet I trust I can do something interesting in the future.

Q.  Did you feel these five sets that you played before, the past two matches that you’ve played?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, you know, I took a little rest, so that was good.  Even though I had played long matches I was ready for today’s match.  But the thing is is that I couldn’t play better than what I played today.

Q.  What should you do now to play even better against this opponent, for instance?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, I think, you see, that I would need to have an excellent serve all the time, very consistently, and serve well.

And then if you have the slightest opportunity, you should be more aggressive.  You know, during the whole match, most of the match, he was dictating.  That’s for sure.

I was moving around on the court.  It was not easy for me to impose my game.

Q.  Now there’s Wimbledon soon and the Olympics doubles.  Could you tell us more about your objectives?  What would you expect from these two events?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, next week I’ll go to Halle, and then Eastbourne before I go to Wimbledon.

I hope that I’ll play well on grass after playing on clay.  Grass is really fine.  I think that with my results here and the results I obtained in Rome, that’s going to be very helpful for me for these future tournaments.

Q.  I’m going to ask you a question that has nothing to do with tennis.  Do you like basketball?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Yeah, I like basketball.

Q.  A lot?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, yes.  So‑so, no more.  That’s all.  I like that sport.  Is that all?  Okay.  Thank you (Laughter.)

