R. GASQUET/T. Haas 6‑7, 6‑3, 6‑0, 6‑0

 

 

TOMMY HAAS

 

Q.  I suppose it’s the first time you lost 14 games in a row in Grand Slam.  So how good was Gasquet at that time and what did you tell him at the end of the match?

TOMMY HAAS:  I don’t actually want to admit it, but it’s the second time on the same court.  It was the same thing as Davydenko, it’s 5‑All in the first and then I lost 5‑7, 0‑6, 0‑6.  I don’t know which year it was.

But, you know, I don’t think I want to play on that court anymore, to be honest.

But, no, I mean, overall, you know, I think it was a competitive match the first two sets.  You know, I think the first set was really important, was long, you know, decided it for myself, which gave me confidence actually in the second set.  I did feel my knee a little bit at the beginning of the second, and just for a second your mind sort of drifts away.  Took a Voltaren and got a bad break.

He played some good tennis to win the second set.

Then, you know, third set started, and he just started playing, you know, tremendous tennis.  I mean, everything very close to the line, serving first serves, started to rip his forehand and backhand quite easily, and everything was just ‑‑ that he touched it seemed like was going his way.

And there’s not much I could really do, actually.  So beginning of the fourth I was just trying to tell myself, come on, let’s try to hold my serve and stay closer.  It just continued on for him.  Everything that he played was just too good.

And you have to accept the fact that he played at a level that I couldn’t really do anything.  Maybe I was a step too slow here and there.  Maybe I feel the last five matches a little bit, even though mentally that’s not something you think about during the match.

But, you know, credit to him.  You know, he played really good tennis, and I look forward watching him play the next round.

 

Q.  I want to know whether or not if you’re competing here since quallies, what it felt like to play the qualifying tournament.  And I want to know if was pretty much what you expected?  Or were you surprised about your coming here?

TOMMY HAAS:  Well, it’s a Grand Slam, so you have to, you know, basically tell yourself these are the tournaments you want to play.  That’s why I decided to come here and play qualifying, which was obviously not easy leaving home with my family.  But once you make up your mind, you do it.  And the main goal was to try to qualify for this event.

And, you know, I’m really happy with the last two weeks with the result, getting to the third round.  You know, obviously I wish I could have gone further, but, you know, I was defeated by the better player today.

But, overall, it was a good experience.  I’m happy to, I guess, be back in the top 100, which I think maybe wasn’t a chance to get there again.  All in all, I will take it, and it was a good two weeks for me.

 

Q.  As an experienced player, how could you deal with your injury problems about bad results, loss of confidence?  How you can deal with these things compared when you were initiating your career?

TOMMY HAAS:  Well, I mean, you know, you have to deal with certain things in life every once in a while.  And, you know, you can’t ‑‑ you can’t help the fact that some injuries come and go and some are worse than others.  You have to have surgery and go on for a long time from the game, but, you know, if you really love something and you are really good at doing something, you try to continue as long as you can.  You know, you have to have the right mindset and the right work ethic in order to go through it a couple of times like I have.

But, you know, moments like this, going through qualifying and winning a couple of matches in the main draw of a Grand Slam, makes it worthwhile.

You know, I’ll try to enjoy and continue playing and continue trying getting better as long as I play.

