M. GRANOLLERS/P. Mathieu 6‑4, 6‑4, 1‑6, 4‑6, 6‑1

 

 

MARCEL GRANOLLERS

 

Q.  How do you feel now you’re in the round of 16 in the French Open?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  I’m extremely happy.  It’s the first time I’ve reached that round.  I went to the third round in the US Open last year, and I’m very happy with what I did here.  It was an extremely difficult match.

Q.  What was the most difficult?  The five sets?  His game?  What?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, I saw we were going to be in a fifth set, and the match was getting very long.  We were both tired.  And at that moment I didn’t know how I could hurt him, 6‑1, 4‑Love for the third and fourth set, and he was playing incredible.

There was no way I could attack him, so I thought I just had to fight and keep fighting.

But in the end of the fourth set it started changing a little already.

 

Q.  But what did you change?  What happened?  How do you feel so comfortable on clay now?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  Well, I didn’t start the year very well.  I didn’t win many matches.  But little by little I have played better, and I had the past one month and a half quite good.  And also I had a bit of luck.

Yesterday in my match I was a bit lucky.  I could be at home right now instead of being here.  I was able to take the opportunity that I was given to win yesterday, and I was able to win that match, too.

 

Q.  David is going to be a tough opponent.  What do you think about the next match?

MARCEL GRANOLLERS:  It’s going to be a tough match, of course.  David is one of the best players in the world, and he has been demonstrating this for a while.  He plays at a very high level right now, and I will have to play extremely well if I want to have a chance to win.

