J. TIPSAREVIC/J. Benneteau 6‑3, 7‑5, 6‑4

JULIEN BENNETEAU

Q.  How do you feel?  Frustrated or happy to have reached that level?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Neither/nor.  You know, I’m not frustrated.  I’m a bit disappointed, but I have the impression I’ve gone to the end of this stage.  I did my best, and that’s why I’m not frustrated.

Anyhow, I’m yet a bit disappointed, because I wanted more.  You know, I wanted to have more.  Even though what’s happened to me is good.  I played the tournament, one match, then two matches.  I finished the tournament without being injured and with some victories.  So that’s good.  I have gained time from the near future, which is really good.

Q.  Not far.  Really, six break points.  Wouldn’t you say this was the key again, 3‑2?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  That’s true.  He started really well.  He was more solid.  It was for difficult for me to find my feet, to know, you know, the right formula the court.  That’s when he went down a little.  This is when I should have seized this opportunity.

But before that, each time I had opportunities during the first rounds, that was okay.  But today I’ve missed many of these opportunities.  There are many reasons, you see, but I should ‑‑ I could have done better at that moment.

Q.  Apart from physical tiredness, mentally were you tired?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Well, just after the match, I realized that, yeah, that’s true.  I feel, all of a sudden, the ‑‑ I feel I’m tired.  You know, when I was in the locker rooms, physically and mentally I felt I was tired, really tired.

Mentally, no, no, I was not tired.  Well, I was ready to consider any type of efforts to turn around the match, to make the most of central court and the crowd and make the most of the instants, the moments.  Even though it was very difficult, I wanted to still be in the match as much as I could.

Q.  Now, the fact that you’ve had to play yet you were feeling a bit down, wouldn’t you say that you focused more on the game?  You didn’t really ask any questions about anything else but you focused more on the game, on the match?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Well, during the first two rounds, that’s true.  It was more ‑‑ it was clearer.  I was focusing only on this.  Today I tried, as well, but I couldn’t play the way I wanted to play with the same mindset, this mindset I wanted to have.

Here again, the opponent was of a totally different level, and the balls were returned more often with more quality.  He was all over the place.  He was offensive, aggressive, and therefore you have to move on the court really well.  You have to have accuracy in your moves, you have to be fresh, which was not the case for me today.

And this is why sometimes when he was attacking me I couldn’t really return the points.  I was less lucid or aware of what was happening, and this is when I had to fight more and stay within the match.

In the same mindset, my objective was to hit the balls even better, not to make any mistakes, and it was a match therefore which was in keeping with the other matches.  That is, I wanted to keep my focus.  Yet there were more parameters to manage and consider.

Q.  What are the conclusions you would draw from Roland Garros?  Would you say this is work harvested for the future?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Well, it’s very positive.  I didn’t have many opportunities or chances to play the tournament.  I’ve reached the third round, so even this is positive.  You know, immediately it’s positive, but also later on it’s going to have a positive impact, right?

So I was defeated, okay, but he’s in the top 10.  It’s at Roland Garros.  So there’s not much else I could say.

Q.  Would you say there are shots that you can’t do due to your elbow?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  No, no, no, I can play all points.  But I’m not as good as usual, because I have not tried some of these shots for one‑and‑a‑half months.

Q.  Is it because you were not prepared enough, and that’s why you say you’re not disappointed and you’re not frustrated, or does it really matter at all for such a match, or doesn’t it?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Well, that’s true.  There’s a bit of this necessarily because I said I was not frustrated, but a bit disappointed.  This is what I said.

You know, I don’t have to think about where I’ve come from.  Everything is relative.  I enjoyed the fact that I was still playing during the third round compared to where I was one‑and‑a‑half months ago.

This is positive, of course.  And today, even though ‑‑ well, had I been more prepared, I would not necessarily have won the match.  Who knows?  Nobody will ever know.

So I don’t want to think too much about their saying, “Oh, had I,” et cetera, “than I would” ‑‑ no.

Q.  What next for you?  What’s your program?  Are you going to continue with the next cycle, or will you play other matches or will you practice?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  Well, first I’ll take a few days off to rest a little, because my body suffered, my arm feels heavy, I have a few tight muscles, as well, and then I will practice on grass and go to Queen’s next weekend.

Q.  I saw that maybe you’re going to play doubles during the Olympic Games.

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  That’s possible.

Q.  Is it possible for you?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  It seems that, yes, it’s possible.  It’s likely.

Q.  Have you been thinking about it already?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  A little, but we have to wait.  We’ll know better on Monday the 11th.  This is when we have more information about the federation and their decisions vis‑a‑vis the Olympic Games.

I think that’s true.  I have more ‑‑ I’m more likely to play compared to January.

Q.  Have you discussed this with the other players that belong, that are members of the Federation?

JULIEN BENNETEAU:  We have talked about this already.  They had to discuss this with other players as well.  But it’s always difficult to find moments.  There are players who have won matches, others who have lost matches, others who are not here at Roland Garros.  So they should have discussed this first internally within the Federation and then discussed this with a number of players.  They have talked to me already.

Then I have to wait, wait and see what they have discussed internally and see if we’re going to all meet this week or not.

