D. FERRER/M. Youzhny 6‑0, 6‑2, 6‑2

 

DAVID FERRER

 

Q.  Are you very excited to have your first question in English?

DAVID FERRER:  (Laughter.)  I prefer to speak the Spanish, but…

Q.  Just a bit of a funny question, would you like to have the life of Rafael Nadal, big star, always questions, always cameras?  Would you like to have a life like that?

DAVID FERRER:  No.  Is normal.  Rafael is the No. 2 of the world.  He won ‑‑ I don’t know how many Grand Slams he won.  It’s normal.  He’s a star, of course.  Me, I never won nothing very important.

I like my role.  I don’t know in English.  I am No. 6 of the world, and very happy with myself.

 

Q.  Would you change with Rafa if you could?

DAVID FERRER:  No.  Well, maybe I change one tournament or two.  (Laughter.)  But I am very happy with my career and with my tennis.

 

Q.  I don’t know whether you noticed it, but when Youzhny finally won a game, he kind of drew “sorry” with his feet onto the clay with his feet.  Did you see him writing it?

DAVID FERRER:  No, I didn’t see.  I was very focused in the match, and it was funny.  It was funny now, because I won.  I’m very happy.

 

Q.  Can you understand what was going through his head to have him write that onto the clay?

DAVID FERRER:  I didn’t see.  I didn’t see.  I don’t know why he put this in the court, but ‑‑ I don’t have nothing to say.

 

Q.  How much do you believe in your chances to win Roland Garros?  Very much, just a bit?

DAVID FERRER:  No, for me I will try to focus with only the next match against Marcel Granollers or Paul‑Henri Mathieu.  And I don’t want to think about if I will win Roland Garros, I will do semifinal, quarterfinal.  For me, the most important is the next match.

THE MODERATOR:  Questions in Spanish, please.

 

Q.  Youzhny really plays very well.  He’s a strong player.  Maybe he was like somewhere else, not really on the courts today.

DAVID FERRER:  Well, I think I managed to keep my focus throughout the match.  It was very important to start well, and I had to start attacking and play very high balls.  I managed to keep my focus throughout the match, and all the points were good for me.  I’m very satisfied.

 

Q.  I come from Ecuador.  Congratulations, David.  This was a victory.  On paper it was not that obvious, I think, but then you managed to win easily.  Could you say something for Ecuador and something about your match?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, yeah, that’s true.  This match was easier than planned, and I was immediately into the match.  When the situation was a bit difficult, I managed to overcome these difficulties.  Like there was a break point, and I managed to get through, thanks to my serve.  I managed to dictate the game.

I don’t know if I’ll play against Paul‑Henri Mathieu or Marcel Granollers.  He’s a Spaniard like me.  In any case, either Marcel or Paul‑Henri, I’ll have to continue playing this high level of game.

As far as Ecuador is concerned, I can tell you I have friends like Nicolas Lapentti and others whom I like very much.

 

Q.  So 8‑0 in 27 minutes.  Eight games in a row in 27 minutes.  That’s good.

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t really remember, but, yeah, that’s true.  It happened with (indiscernible) and Rochus.  These matches ended this way, eight straight games, and then against Santoro.  And something similar.

You know, there are matches when I play really well.  Others I play not that well.  But then what’s important for me is the next round.

 

Q.  Would you say that there are any differences between Lenglen and Chatrier?  Is it important to have enough room behind the baseline in Chatrier against Lenglen?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, in any case, these two courts are huge.  I have not yet played on Chatrier.  That’s true that Lenglen is slightly smaller than the central court.

Sometimes your bearings are different.  With Chatrier you have the impression that it’s so huge that you might be a bit lost on the court.

 

Q.  What about the clay on Lenglen and the clay on Chatrier?

DAVID FERRER:  I don’t know.  I have not yet played on central court.  I don’t think so.  Clay is the same, I’d say, no differences between Lenglen and Chatrier.

 

Q.  A question about the baseline.  I don’t know if you’re playing a defensive game or not when you return the points.  I don’t know how people defend themselves, if they’re too much behind the baseline.  You know, on the Chatrier court some players play two or three meters behind the baseline.

DAVID FERRER:  Well, the courts are equally big.  You can move around the way you want, but it’s a question of feelings.  Your feelings will dictate where you have to play.

We, the players, know that if the court is bigger, we have more room to move around.  Sometimes we’re behind the baseline, further away from the baseline.  But these are details.  These are things that we adjust as we play.

 

Q.  You’ve won three matches with straight sets or consecutive sets.  That is nine sets in a row.  Would you say that you’ve gained total confidence?

DAVID FERRER:  I feel really good.  Even last year I felt good, but this year, that’s true, I have had some ups and downs, but it’s okay.

It’s important, by the way, for me to feel good.  I won these matches in three sets.  But, as you know, you know that tennis changes all the time.  There will be moments that will be more difficult that I’ll have to manage correctly.  I’ll have to live up to these tricky moments.  For the time being, everything is okay.  But it’s going to be more and more difficult as we go.

 

Q.  What about your feelings?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, physically I feel really good.  In terms of my tennis, I feel good, as well, which is very important.

 

Q.  Well, what about your feelings?  You play really well.  You’ve played well since the beginning of the season.  Would you say there are any changes, any reasons for you to play that well?

DAVID FERRER:  No, I don’t think so.  I think I play a high level tennis.  I was not injured N 2010 I played a good year.  In 2011 I was not injured, either.  So very important for me.

What really counsels foe meed to be stead I there will be more matches, that will be difficult.  Everybody has ups and downs, but during the season I have had good matches.

Now, if you look at any players, I’d say that sometimes players feel good.  Sometimes they feel less good.  It all depends.  It changes with the season.

