K. KANEPI/C. Wozniacki 6‑1, 6‑7, 6‑3

 

 

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI

 

 

Q.  Obviously a big disappointment.  Can you tell us what happened?  Are you fully fit?  The problems from Spain and Rome, is that all gone?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Yeah, it’s all gone.  Disappointing to lose, it always is, and especially in a round like this.  You know, of course I had hoped for more, but it wasn’t possible this time.  And just going to go back and practice and get ready for the next big events coming up.

Q.  You had a big argument with the umpire at 1‑1 in the second set.  Was that your McEnroe moment?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Well, when the ball is clearly out, I don’t think there should be anything to argue about.  You know, if they cannot see, they should have other umpires on the lines or invent Hawk‑Eye on these courts.

It’s a disgrace that, you know, mistakes like this are made.  It wasn’t even like, you know, could have been in, could have been out.  It was clearly out.

You know, also, when a ball travels 5 miles an hour in the third set at 1‑All, you know, I think either the linesman or the main umpire should be able to see the ball, as well.

 

Q.  That match, a lot of balls went either on the line or close to the line.  Do you feel that the lines didn’t like you today and they were on Kanepi’s side?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  I don’t know.  I didn’t really think about that, to be honest.

 

Q.  You have had hired recently Thomas Johansson as coach.  Do you have as a plan with him to try to change maybe your game and hit more winners?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  No.  I plan to hit just try to improve my game the way I play.  But, you know, to try to keep improving.  You know, it’s ‑‑ yeah, I just have to stay positive and, you know, in tennis there is always next week.  So that’s the good thing.

 

Q.  I’m sure you have a lot of feelings about the match.  Do you just want to talk about them?  It was very long.  There were a lot of ups and downs.  You made the great come back in the seconds, the third set probably didn’t start the way you wanted to.  Then you couldn’t pull off the comeback in the end there.

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Yeah, you know, I definitely was fighting till the end.  I didn’t give up.  You know, I think, you know, I can be happy about that the way I felt, but, you know, it was enough.  Definitely didn’t get the start on the third set, as well, that I wanted.  I mean, it was 1‑All and should have been 2‑1 for pee and it ended up it was 2‑1 for her and then all of a sudden 4‑1 and I have to fight back.  In the end of the day, you know, I tried, but it just was too late.

 

Q.  It appeared at 61, 51, that you started to say to you your, I’m going to hit my shots I have nothing to lose here and that worked.  Do you feel like you carried that mentality throughout the third set, too?

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Yeah, you know, I tried, but, you know, I couldn’t hit through her, and, you know, in the end, you know, maybe I should have stopped closer to the lines or, I don’t know, it’s easy to sit here now, but obviously I was trying to win the match and tried to do everything that I could to win.

 

Q.  You seem pretty disappointed just overall.  Your feelings now and then moving ahead.

CAROLINE WOZNIACKI:  Yeah, of course.  It’s ‑‑ I can’t really be happy.  You know, about losing today, but, you know, it’s sports, and at least looking ahead, you know, you have big tournaments coming up, Wimbledon and Olympics, and, you know, US Open, so, you know, still plenty of big tournaments to look forward to.

