A. MURRAY/S. Giraldo 6‑3, 6‑4, 6‑4

ANDY MURRAY

Q.  Did you know you were going to be right when you woke up this morning, or did you have to feel yourself into the match a little bit just to check that everything was working okay?

ANDY MURRAY:  No, I think ‑‑ well, I mean, obviously it was very hot today.  So I warmed up very quickly, and, I mean, I felt better yesterday when I woke up than I had the day before, and then obviously had a very light practice yesterday.

Yeah, I woke up this morning again feeling better than I did, but that’s because of the work my physio has done the last 48 hours and all the recovery work that we’ve done between the last match and now.

So obviously with the rest and doing all the right things, I felt better.

Q.  Was it just work done by Andy or was there anything else?  Darren Cahill put out on Twitter before the start of the tournament that you had had a couple of cortisone jabs after Rome.  Was it just purely physiotherapy and manipulation after the other day?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah.  I just saw him, and, yeah, did all the ‑‑ I mean, all the things that he can do.  You know, guys often during tournaments have almost like numbing shots, you know, if they’re just trying to get through a match and are deep in a tournament or whatever.  But I didn’t do that, because with all the advice we got ‑‑ I saw the doctor here and spoke to him, as well, and, yeah, took all the right medication and did all the right treatments.

Q.  Are we talking about very long sessions?  Are we talking about you working a couple of times with Andy, two hours in the morning and a couple of hours late at night?  Is that how it worked?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, it’s not necessarily the lengths of time.  It’s not like the whole of my back had seized up.  It was like one point in my back that needed the treatment.  I saw him numerous times the last few days.

But, yeah, it wasn’t like I was seeing him for three hours at a time.  I was just seeing him for the amount of time it takes to do the stretching and the massage and the manipulations on that area.

Q.  How much of a hindrance was it out there?  How close did you feel to full fitness?

ANDY MURRAY:  I felt like I moved pretty well today.  I mean, when you’re playing in slams, I just think each day you need to take as it comes.  And I felt, you know, much better than I did the other day.  I felt better than I did yesterday.

So I’m hoping that tomorrow I’ll feel good again, and that’s all you’ve got to do is each day just be a little bit better.

Q.  I guess now considering all that, how satisfying was it to come through like you did today?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I served very well in the first set and that really helped.  He started off hitting the ball well and I was able to get a lot of free points on my serve.  And, yeah, once I started to get into the match and got ahead of him, I started hitting the ball well and started dictating all the points.

Then in the third set, he just started to just going for huge shots and was a bit frustrating, because it was pretty low percentage tennis, but, you know, for the time where it was working I was getting some break point chance getting into the games and couldn’t quite breakthrough.  I hit the ball well for I think for two‑and‑a‑half sets, I hit the ball really well, and the serve was important today.

Q.  When was the last time you can remember playing a perfect game, four aces?

ANDY MURRAY:  I don’t know.  I mean, that’s happened before on the tour, but I don’t know the last time it happened.

Q.  In all likelihood it’s going to be Richard Gasquet in the next round.  Just played him in Rome, but obviously the last time you played him here was one of your great performances here, I would suggest.  Would you like to talk about the idea of playing him here again?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I think it was a very good comeback.  I remember him starting the match very, very well, and then just managed to turn it around.  I think it was two sets and a break down.

I think ‑‑ I mean, I wouldn’t necessarily see myself as the favorite for the match.  Obviously he beat me a couple of weeks ago.  You know, he’s going to have the crowd behind him.  I think this was probably ‑‑ I mean, right now this has probably been his best surface.

So it’s going to be a tough match.  But when I played him here last time, I hung in, I fought really hard, and just managed to turn the match around, which I did the same thing at Wimbledon.  When he plays well, he’s a very, very tough guy to beat.  He plays some unbelievable shots.

Q.  You said after Thursday that in a way sometimes when you have a near miss it can sort of free you up a little bit.  You did look very calm even when you were ‑‑ missed a couple of those break points in the third set.  Was there an element to that today?

ANDY MURRAY:  It was kind of for the most part until, like I said, third set I was getting a bit frustrated because I felt like I was really close to just getting that breakthrough, and then when I didn’t, I was getting a bit frustrated.

But, yeah, now that I’m feeling better, you know, I want to try and do as best as I can in the tournament.

But today, yeah, I started the match off very relaxed, and that helped.

Q.  Were you at all surprised by all the hoo‑ha that blew up after Virginia Wade’s comments?  Were you aware of all the talk that was going on back home?

ANDY MURRAY:  No.  I haven’t seen any of it.  I just answered ‑‑ I did ‑‑ I’m not sure if they’re in here, the guy I did the interview with after I finished the press conference, and I just answered the question as I saw it.

But I haven’t heard everything that’s gone on since then.  But the fact that you’re asking me about it would suggest there has been a lot of stuff written.  Yeah.  But don’t really know what else to say.

Q.  Three matches now, three different courts.  Does that make it difficult at all?  Are the conditions particularly different on the courts?

ANDY MURRAY:  Yeah, I mean, the court is obviously ‑‑ I mean, that’s quite a tight court.  Normally the courts feel a bit quicker when they’re like that.  Playing on Chatrier is ‑‑ it’s a massive court.  There’s a lot of runback on the sides and at the back, so it does tend to feel a bit slower.

But also today was very, very warm, into the 30s, I think.  I don’t know if that was accurate on the court, but it was warm and, therefore, it was going to play a lot quicker, because the other day when I played it was fairly cold.

Q.  Could I just ask has Virginia Wade been in touch to maybe explain her comments?

ANDY MURRAY:  No, and I don’t expect her to be, either.  I mean, that sort of stuff happens all the time.  You get, you know, people that are watching matches or commentating on matches before, during, or after, and those sort of things get said all of the time.

It’s nice to be able to sometimes be in a position where ‑‑ because I obviously don’t hear when I’m playing the match.  I don’t hear what’s getting said all the time, but then obviously if you get asked about it, it’s nice to be able to answer and also give your opinion sometimes.

Often when I do give my honest opinion on things, it becomes a huge story.  So I try my best.  But when it’s something I’m quite passionate about, then I’m going to give my honest opinion on something, and I didn’t think it was fair.

Q.  Could I give you some of our honest opinions on something a bit different?  You were talking about the boring court, and those of us who have probably been coming here too many years, anyway, think that that court for us, where we sit so close to the action, is the best in tennis.  Now, they’re planning to knock it down.  Maybe not next year, but in a couple of years.  Will you be sad to see that go?  Has it got a special atmosphere?

ANDY MURRAY:  It is a very tight, compact court, so I’m sure ‑‑ I mean, I’m sure a lot of times there has been unbelievable atmospheres on that court.  I played on it twice I think since I played here.  I think I’ve only played on it twice.

Yeah, I always find that the bit smaller and the closer the ‑‑

Q.  Is it too small?

ANDY MURRAY:  Too small?  Well, there’s one point I nearly ended up in Neil’s lap, I think.  (Laughter.)

But, no, I like it when the courts are like that.  I think it’s good for ‑‑ I mean, it’s not always necessarily about the player in that respect.  I think for the people watching, I think it’s great, because you can get really close to the court and, you know, on Chatrier sometimes there might not be anybody in the first ten rows, and there’s a huge, you know, huge runback on the sides and at the back.

So, yeah, it would be a shame to see it go.

Q.  Would you say you’re actually feeling better now than when you played Gasquet in Rome?

ANDY MURRAY:  My back, the original problem that I had was definitely much better now than it was when I played in Rome.

But, yeah, I mean, I don’t want to say exactly whether I feel better or not.  This is very hard to judge.

Q.  Can you give us an idea what Ivan does other than being on the practice court with you?  How much time would you spend, say, before you play Gasquet to talk about how he will advise perhaps and inform you on what to expect playing a Frenchman on center court?  He had been that person; you have been that person.  But how much will Ivan talk to you outside of the practice court between now and that match?

ANDY MURRAY:  Well, I think we will go for lunch or dinner together a couple of times a week, just me and him, just to talk about, you know, all sorts of different things, which I haven’t really done in the past with people I’ve worked with, just to have some one‑on‑one time to discuss ‑‑ the one thing that’s nice about working with him is that if you have a problem, he’s a very easy person to talk to about it, because he doesn’t get offended a lot of times.

I think nowadays a lot of people get a bit oversensitive when, you know ‑‑ if he has a problem with me, and he comes and tells me, it’s nice, because a lot of times maybe sometimes people don’t want to say things or, you know, if they do say something, people get really defensive or whatever.  With him it’s actually not like that at all.

So we do that.  We speak openly a couple of times a week, and then between now and the match, we will, I mean ‑‑ tomorrow in the practice, we’ll do a couple of specific things, you know, that will hopefully work against Gasquet.  And then we’ll discuss the match the night beforehand.

Q.  Is there an example you could give us that he’s come to you and said something that you would otherwise have been offended by?

ANDY MURRAY:  No, I don’t want to go into that much detail, but the conversations I have with him, because I don’t want everyone knowing about them.  That’s the one thing I would say about him is that if you say something to him that other people might have been offended by or gotten a little bit uptight with, he doesn’t care.

Q.  So he posted a picture of him and John McEnroe together.  Did it go off?

ANDY MURRAY:  It was interesting.  (Smiling.)  We literally like saw each other, and I would say within ten seconds they were setting up like a bike ride against each other.  And then, yeah, McEnroe was saying, When are we going to play?  When are we going to do an exhibition?

They were both just very competitive people.  It was nice to see.  I was like listening to every word.  That was good.

Q.  Ivan wasn’t in Rome when you played Gasquet.  Have you gone through a tape of that match, or do you intend to go through a tape of that match?

ANDY MURRAY:  No, he’s gone out to ‑‑ him and Danny went out to watch the match, the match just now.  I mean, he’s seen Gasquet play quite a few times so far this year.  Also, me and Danny, I’ve played against him a lot and Danny has also seen him a lot, so we’ll have good tactics for the match and hopefully come up with a good game plan.

