DAVID FERRER

D. FERRER/B. Paire 6‑3, 6‑3, 6‑2

Q.  So far everything’s been okay for you.

DAVID FERRER:  Yeah.  I played well.  I was constant, and I didn’t give him many opportunities so that he could really get into the match.

He’s a player who’s very creative, you see.  That is, he’s very aggressive with dropshots with an exceptional touch, but the good thing is that I could break him during the first set quickly and win the match.

Q.  In general, Nadal and Federer say that the balls are slower than last year but faster than in Monte‑Carlo or Rome.  What would you say about this?

DAVID FERRER:  Well, it’s all relative, you see.  Sometimes when the year goes by, you don’t really remember your feelings.  I think that the balls have more or less always been the same here.  In general, Roland Garros, in any way, is faster than Rome and Monte‑Carlo.

It’s always been the case.  This is something I’ve always felt, in any case.  I think it’s quite similar, though, even though everything is relative.

Q.  I don’t know if people have mentioned to you that Andy Murray has perhaps some problems.  He’s got backaches, perhaps.  Are you interested in knowing that or not?  Do you follow this daily?

DAVID FERRER:  No, I don’t pay that much attention to his matches.  I saw some images with the physiotherapist doing something on his back.

But otherwise I think he’s won the match.  It’s the same for everybody, you see.  We all have our injuries from time to time.  Now, there’s Youzhny and Haase, they’re excellent players, and this is what I’d like to focus on, the upcoming match.  I’ve got to play my best.

Q.  (Off microphone.)

DAVID FERRER:  Well, it’s the same.  I couldn’t say.  You know, last year and the year before, everything was okay.

This year I have no injuries.  Nothing wrong physically.  But each match is different.  You know, sometimes you play really well, and then the following matches you don’t really play that well.

