S. STOSUR/D. Cibulkova 6‑4, 6‑1

 

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA

 

 

Q.  It was a very tight first set.  Got a little tougher in the second.  Was there a big switch around when you lost that first set?

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA:  Actually, I just started to play much better in the end of the first set, and then I was 1‑0 up and 40‑Love on her serve.  But, I mean, I have to say that she played unbelievable today.

You know, her topspin and her serve, I mean, she played like a man, and it’s really hard to play against a man.  It was driving me crazy on the court today.  So it was really, really hard.  Really tough.

Q.  Is she particularly difficult to play against on clay?

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA:  I mean, for me for sure, because she’s putting the ball so high.  Her kick she gets me out of the court so much so then I cannot do nothing.  So if I want to go against the serve I go here, and if I want to go back I’m like three meters behind the baseline.

It was not easy.  Today in tough moments she gave me so many good winners, so many lines, and it was just everything going her way today.

 

Q.  Do you think the break points you had at 1‑Love in the beginning of the second set was the key of the match?

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA:  Yeah, this was really important moment, also.

I mean, also in the first set I had so many game points, and I think two break points that I didn’t make.  It’s tennis about, you know, about a few points.

But she also play really well, and she was just ‑‑ I would say she was playing really good today.

So it was really, really hard.  I mean, I was trying really hard on the court just to stay there and to do something.  I was waiting that it’s gonna ‑‑ that she would start to make mistakes and something start to happen, but nothing change.

Yeah.  I felt really playing against a man today.

 

Q.  What do you think is the most annoying in her game?

DOMINIKA CIBULKOVA:  For me for sure her topspin.  I mean, her topspin bounces so high, and it’s not easy, you know, to play my shots, you know, to play my fast and flat shots.

The ball is jumping really high.  So it’s uncomfortable on the court against her for me play, you know.

I think her serve is the biggest weapon.  It was so hard to break her today.  I’m very good returning player.  I am just, you know, returning really well, and I go in the second serve and I try to make points, but today it was impossible.

